Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Levittown, PA
Students enrolled: 258

4 stars
Based on 3 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Penn Valley El School 5

Posted September 20, 2011
- a parent
THe reviews I read are from 2008. So many things they discuss are not the fact now. My daughter is in 2nd grade at PV and absolutely loves the school and her teacher. Mrs. Novet, our principal since last year, is awesome. Mrs. Novet along with the hard working PTO have brought so much new technology to the school for the teachers AND the students to use. Penn Valley actually has the most technology in all the area elementary schools. The classes have at least 3 parties a year: Halloween, Winter Holiday, End of school year. Some classes even have 4 parties. There is a Fallfest and this year it is combined with special prizes children can win for all the reading they did over the summer if they handed in their reading logs. This was high on the list for the principal to get the kids really involved in reading. The school has game night, pizza bingo, ice cream socials, Muffins for Moms, Donuts for Dads, and the list goes on. Remember all these activities would not be possible without the PTO and very involved parents and teachers who go beyond just working in the classroom. I find many parents complain about things, but I don't see them stepping up to the plate & getting involved.

Penn Valley El School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Penn Valley is a caring, student oriented, active and involved Elementary School.


Penn Valley El School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
The reason why students with special needs are mainstreamed in the general education setting is because it is state mandated. It is called inclusion. They have individualized education programs to accommodate their needs. They have a disability, that is why they have difficulty spelling and reading. I take offense to the comment from May 28, 2008. Teachers and principals have no choice when it comes to the states rules and regulations. Inclusion is a wonderful thing. Be thankful that your child does not have the struggles others do.

Penn Valley El School 3

Posted November 24, 2008
- a community member
This school used to be great! Then a new principle came and it hasn't been so great ever since. There is no more Halloween parade, no more roller skating, haven't been to an ice cream social in a long time, not many activities besides Pizza Bingo. Kind of boring and withdrawn nowadays, which is ashame because it used to be a very happy, comfortable, close knit school environment. Not so much anymore.

Penn Valley El School 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
It is a nice size school, but there are some downfalls. They are trying to mainstream special ed students with regualr ed student, and it is just a big distraction for some of the reg. ed students. It is not fair to them or the special ed kids. They should be avle to do things and learn things that are more useful towards there disabilities. Who ever made this rule up was, not thinking at the time. It has alot of hanicapped and special ed students. They cant even spell or read, but they seem to pass on to the other grade, with no proble. That tells us alot about these teachers and principal.


Penn Valley El School 0
no rating

Posted January 21, 2008
- a parent
This school only teaches to test. Homework is nothing more than pages from the PSSA. The school is full of bullies and there is little discipline. I would not recommend

Penn Valley El School 4

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
I love this school. My child has performed excellent in the standardized tests! The environment is a caring one. The teachers have been great so far. I have 1 in 5th and another in K.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Penn Valley El School
180 North Turn Ln, Levittown, PA  19054
(215) 949-6800
Last modified Penn Valley El School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Penn Valley El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top