Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
70 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Hillside School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
The only reason I sent my child to this school was so that the public school would not destroy her self esteem. As a bonus they were able to teach her to read at grade level. Her math skills were and still are advanced. Today she is in college obtaining very impressive grades. Thank you to Hillside for helping to make her a smart and confident adult.

The Hillside School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Mrs Hanosek for being such a wonderful and understanding teacher. Thank you Hillside School for offering the opportunity.


The Hillside School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
The Hillside School changed our lives lives!. My son who could not make sense of letters and sounds, can now read. He would fake getting sick so he would not have to go to school but once he started at Hillside that all ended. The teachers understand my son. They worked at trying to find the best way to motivate and teach him which was not always easy. I was money and time well spent!!

The Hillside School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
The Hillside School sets the standard for private schools for children with learning disabilities. The highly trained faculty easily understood my son's needs and met them through their multi-sensory teaching approach. It has been a joy (and a relief) to get his report cards and see his progression. He is now reading on grade level and actively preparing for college prep courses in high school. The Hillside School has given my son the tools he needs to experience success academically, socially and emotionally.

The Hillside School 2

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
As a parent, I have mixed reviews about Hillside School. They are selective of the children they will accept. If your child has multi learning needs, channel your hard-earned money else where. A few, tremendous, helping teachers that made our stay bearable . Problems stem from lack of Director oversight. Found the administration pompous and uncaring. The school lacks teaching staff with Special Education background. Therefore, when they accept a child whose skills are outside of the box, it's the child's fault and not their lack of insight into those problems. I feel if the school is on the pathway to change, it needs to roll with current issues in life; such as helping parents with children who have more than dyslexia.. I found a lack of patience and a lack of willingness to help parents along with non-friendly attitudes. Many come to the school with high hopes; only to find lack of understanding, compassion, and respect for the parents who work hard to send their child to the school. This treatment is very disappointing to parents who are willing and very engaged in their child's success.


The Hillside School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
If your child needs help, do not wait. Get them to this school. The other reviewers said it all.

The Hillside School 5

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
The Hillside School offers a supportive environment where your child can learn without feeling pressured or ridiculed. Our son's success to this day can be attributed to the skills he acquired at Hillside. God truly blessed the Lehigh Valley with this wonderful school. You will never regret making this investment in your son or daughter's future.

The Hillside School 5

Posted March 15, 2008
- a parent
This school is specifically for children with average/above average IQs who have learning disabilities. This school offers the best education possible for any child with an LD. The classrooms are limited to 8 kids. The environment is calm and nurturing and the teachers are fabulous. In addition to a solid curriculum, Hillside teaches organizational skills and strategies for learning that are key to functioning in a conventional classroom. The goal is to get your child to achieve their full potential and they sincerely strive to do that. I will be forever grateful that we found this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Hillside School
2697 Brookside Road, Macungie, PA  18062
(610) 967-3701
Last modified The Hillside School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
The Hillside School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top