Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shoemaker El School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
You will be impressed from start with the pleasant and helpful front office staff, hands-on principal, and sense of teamwork amongst the staff. It is obvious that not only do the children love their principal, but so do the staff! The school is structured, organized, and a wonderful educational, nuturing environment. Staff are always present at PTO functions and actively involved. The guidance counselor goes above and beyond to play an important role in this school. All staff, from the Music and Art teachers to the janitorial staff work as a team which promotes a wonderful environment for learning and growing for all children.

Shoemaker El School 2

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
Many East Penn schools including Shoemaker failed the 2012 AYP (Adequate Yearly Progress - No Child Left Behind law yearly assessment test). This school is run like a daycare center with a lot of crafts and "one size fits all" teaching. Teachers say there is differentiation in the classrooms where children are divided into 4 groups according to learning speed. I've seen the work of children in 2 different groups. One who needed more help and one who needed more challenge. They were both doing the exact same work . Shoemaker is behind in what other schools, such as Jaindl elementary in Parkland SD, are currently working on in math and language arts and there doesn't seem to be any interest on the part of the administration/teachers to get up to speed. Unless something drastically changes, Shoemaker is going to fail the AYP again.


Shoemaker El School 1

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
great school... as long as your kid performs well and has no learning disabilities... if so, forget it... then you'll hear "your child doesn't need any special education".

Shoemaker El School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
I have no wish to deride the personal experience/feelings of the parent who posted feeling "out of place". The majority of the school population is Caucasian/ Christian and that is reflected. However, that being said, and I am sorry if the person felt excluded, the school is very warm and caring from the teachers, to the front desk ladies, nurse, counseler and principal (Mrs. Brinkman is very hands-on and open to questions). From what I've experienced, everyone has been extremely helpful in nuturing and educating every child. It is a great atmosphere that welcomes parental involvement. Interestingly, I find the parent who didn't find the school had the tools for special education more problematic. This school goes out of its way to help with special needs kids.

Shoemaker El School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Shoemaker Elementary is an excellent school both on and off paper. This whole PA Dutch culture referred to is absolute nonsense. The teachers and office staff are superb at what they do, and this reflects in the school and the children who attend. Shoemaker School is the best thing that ever happened to my child.


Shoemaker El School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
The comment about "feeling out of place" because of not being PA Dutch is just plain ridiculous! I was born and raised in a huge city in the Midwest and have only been here 9 yrs and I have never, ever felt anything like that from anyone in this area much less anyone at Shoemaker. There isn't enough space here to list all the good things about Shoemaker. From the principal- Mrs Brinckman to the office staff everyone is wonderful, friendly and helpful. As the mother of a special needs child and a non-special needs child I can tell you that both are treated wonderfully and both are thriving. They both love their school and look forward to every day there.

Shoemaker El School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
There si no better school than Shoemaker. For students at all academic levels, they are challenged, supported and loved. The teachers never just give their best, they go so far beyond. There is no closed-mindedness here, and everyone puts kids first. Those of you who think otherwise have not tried to get to know the people here. It is a great school on paper and in every other way. Hats off to the administration for always being available to help and for being amazing, and to the teachers who truly care about every person for who he/she is. Shoemaker is extraordinary, and I am so very grateful for having my children there. he/she is.

Shoemaker El School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
My son love his new school and I love it too he can't wate till Monday


Shoemaker El School 3

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
This is an excellent school -- on paper. If you are thinking of moving here, please be aware that the "Pennsylvania Dutch" (German) is the prevailing culture here. If you are of another ethnic group or culture you will be made to feel out of place although the teachers/school say they practice diversity and tolerance, actions speak louder than words, and sadly the actions are strongly monocultural. Most of the teachers seem to have graduated from Kutztown University and are a nepotistic group. Yes it does give a feeling of safety, yes there is a "Rah Rah, lets fill the bucket" attitude. If you want your child to be challenged by the curriculum and/or if you are not Pen-dutch, you may want to look into another school system.

Shoemaker El School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
My son attends this school going on his second year, the staff and their' bucket filler' belief system working together in doing just that.. 'filling buckets' in many ways. Working together with pretty much just going the extra mile. I am not saying one couldn't favor a teacher verses the other. So far I haven't seen such a great bunch! At this point I haven't had any problems with my son, but if I would I would like to think my feelings and their actions wouldn't change.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shoemaker El School
4068 North Fairview St, Macungie, PA  18062
(610) 965-1626
Last modified Shoemaker El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shoemaker El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top