Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seton Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Meadville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $81,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $583.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

I can't say enough about Seton. Wouldn't have my children any other place. Great education, morals and respect! LOVE Seton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

We have always been pleased with not only the teaching and academic curriculum at Seton, but also of the high expectations placed on students (A=93%+, a B=92%-84%. a C=83%) & individual attention students receive. Students are expected to behave & be respectful of each other, the classroom, & the property. They are expected to be personally responsible for their belongings & their homework. There is a greater sense of community at our school, particularly apparent in the Middle School, which is true Middle School model with grades 6-8. Middle school students perform numerous service projects which helps in their character development, & they also interact as mentors to younger students in the school. They are typically advanced to an accelerated curriculum. Seton provides intro to Spanish to all classrooms with Spanish I completed in 7-8th grade (accelerating Seton students for Spanish II in 9th grade). Students are encouraged to be active in both Physical Education classes & on the playground at recess. Seton supports the arts, with classes offered weekly, along with music lessons for grades 4-8. Overall Seton provides a great education and a wonderful school environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Contrary to the latest two reviews, the students of Seton Catholic School test not only above the local school district level, but also above average at the national level. You can see their national score percentiles on the Seton Catholic School website! I am beyond happy with the school and would rather have my children here than in the public school they are districted to go to, which performs in the bottom 15% of the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

this school is NOT academically above standard the Christian values may be taught, but not practiced by administration and parents very disappointing


Posted March 16, 2011

Seton is an amazing school for students, parents, and faculty. The children at Seton display a love of learning and serve their community in a way that is admirable. Everyday, I see God's hand at work in this school. I see teachers that develop and nurture relationships with students that last for years! Seton parents devote their time and energy on a daily basis to make this school so special. In all my years teaching, I have never been so proud to call a school my "home."
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2011

I am a 4th grader at Seton and love my school and eveything about it. The teachers and principal are great and very caring. I even love the uniforms.


Posted February 23, 2011

Seton has made a huge difference in the lives of my children. We are thankful to the teachers and administration for their kindness, care and attention to academic growth. Meadville High School (as well as other high schools that our students attend) is an incredible indicator as to the quality of Seton students and their success rate. They are poised, confident and curriculum ready!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Seton is a true gem. My older son graduated from Seton and went on to a prep school for high school. He was VERY well prepared for this transition. I was told by the administration at the prep school that "Seton students are always well prepared academically" for the transition. He is doing remarkably well and I have Seton to thank for that. My younger son has attended Seton since kindergarten and is thriving both academically and socially. We are grateful to have such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I have been part of the Seton Family for over 20 years and have found the teachers to be very involved with their students. My oldest child went to a prep. school and was very well prepared as will my youngest child when the time comes for him to attend High School. I am very thankful for Seton Catholic School and all those who help to make our school an "awesome" place.


Posted May 6, 2010

They take the time to make sure each child learns to the extent they are capable of learning


Posted September 12, 2008

It was a great school, not only did I love it their but I had the best education!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 71%
Black 3% 15%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Erie
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

385 Pine Street
Meadville, PA 16335
Phone: (814) 336-2320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



East End El School
Meadville, PA



Neason Hill El School
Meadville, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT