Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Meadville, PA
Students enrolled: 447

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a teacher
I have worked at MAMS for 10 years in the same learning support classroom. I enjoy being a part of this team. We take a true middle school approach by implementing teams with in the school. There are two 7th grade pods and two 8th grade pods. We offer many programs taught by encore teachers, as well an many extra-curricular activities. Our students show adequate annual progress yearly. We have fantastic teachers who truly care about their students. The faculty and staff is dedicated to make each year a success. I wouldn't hesitate to send my own son here when it is time for middle school.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Great academics, Great school sprit. Has been that way ever since and before I Graduated. Keep it up teacher and students of Meadville Area high School. Go Bull Dogs. Keep producing great graduates and keep the wonderful and amazing teachers that make it all happen.


Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter in 8th grade. The pods are wonderful, it's nice to be able to talk to all of get teachers together whenever I want to. The parent portal is fantastic we can keep up daily with grades and we can email teachers with concerns and they are prompt with getting back to you. My daughter has learned so much and is planning on being acquired into Princeton when she graduates and has a great foundation from MAMS to get her there.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
As a 1997 graduate from Meadville, I am still proud that this was my school. I have continued to donate to various programs a couple times a year; as I know the money is always put to good use. Great teachers, great programs.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 3

Posted April 04, 2013
- a community member
Just a clarification, Crawford Central School District does not have the highest average paid teachers salaries in the state. After getting on the site for PA put out by the government on teachers salaries, I found that the average teacher salary in PA is about $55,000 and the average for Crawford Central is about $52,000. The highest average salary in PA about $92,000 a far cry from the $52,000 for Crawford Central. The lowest average was about $30,000 which was in charter schools not public schools. While it is important to share information, it is also important to be sure it is accurate.


Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 2

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
This middle school has Pods! They are currently named; "Visonaries, Seekers, Explorers & People Movers". What is a pod anyway? It is "Ability Grouping" which is a sneeky way to "Track" academic ability. It is a well known fact that "tracking" is only good for the "brainiacs & gifted" in a school. If your child is not a straight A student & not competing in the top 10% of his/her class then he/she will not prosper in this type of education system partly because the expectations of these students are low so the teachers don't challenge them the way teachers should. Also, the AP classes have the better, more experienced teachers while everybody else winds up with the "newbies" & "paycheck teachers". The schools would be better if they quit spending all the money on the teacher's salaries, benefits & pensions. Crawford Central has the highest average paid teachers salaries in PA while it has one of the lowest per child spending rates. Most of the average & below average students don't even have books to bring home while the AP students do. Look up "Ability grouping" & "Crawford Central School District" at Wikipedia & you will learn tons more about it & the overall effect.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 4

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
The Meadville Area Middle School has earned "School to Watch" two times. The administration, faculty, staff, parents and students are working very hard to show how successful they are becoming in academic achievement. Respect for self and others is another focus. It is an ideal climate for learning and growing.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 1

Posted August 15, 2011
- a parent
Academics and discipline are both poor. An appropriate precursor to the low expectations and lack of discipline at the high school.


Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS)
974 North Street, Meadville, PA  16335
(814) 333-1188
Last modified Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meadville Area Middle School (MAMS) Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top