Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Waldron Mercy Academy

Private | PK-8 | 551 students

Our school is best known for our students' love of learning.
 
 

 

Living in Merion Station

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $517,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

It's a good school if you fit into a certain box. If you're a little different it won't be a good fit for your child. Also if you have a different learning style it will be hard for your child. My child had a hard time with some of the students and administration. They have a way of making it seem like it's your child's fault (not intentionally) that they don't fit in or get it. I have seen several kids self esteem suffer because of this. As far as their curriculum goes, you had to be in honors math to take Algebra 1 in the 8th grade. Most area high schools expect you to start in Algebra 2. When we first got there Spanish class wasn't that great, but it improved by the time we left. A lot of memorization not much critical thinking. The amount of homework they give with the amount of learning didn't seemed balanced. They should give less material but go deeper. Learn more about why the fact is important and less trying to memorize the fact. My child learned there and made it into an area college prep high school, so the school is not all bad. They need to be more inclusive of differences and tweak their curriculum and they will be an excellent school for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

The only negative thing I can say is that it eventually had to come to an end. I loved it here and had amazing experiences. That's not to say that I didn't have bad days there, or had hard classes! Academics were challenging, but had teachers who loved to teach and loved to learn from us. It honestly felt like the programs were designed around us and what would benefit us, as an individual and as a class. I participated in sports and service and loved it! What I loved the most was the music program! I love Chorale and the plays! Mr. Borton is a genius! Choir won gold in NYC against only high schools and our sports teams have won several champions! The plays are high school quality, but in a middle school setting. There was something for everyone and was very easy to be apart of a few different things. Everyone had a close group of friends and everyone was always supportive. The teachers were not scary, but seemed like family! I highly recommend this school to anyone! I am currently in high school and was one of the few students in my entire class who was prepared academically and socially. I had a very easy transition and I wish I could go back to Waldron for high school!


Posted February 8, 2011

After moving to Westcoast, we miss this school very much. It's a kind of place where you KNOW your children will come out a with great education, great values and skills. Only if we could transport the whole school out to our neighborhood..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

I love WMA, the administration, the mission, the values, the community is great!! My child has been there for two years, and my husband and I are completely happy with the academics, the study body, the public speaking skills of the students and the extra curricular activities for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I have to say, attending this school has been one of the most positive experiences in my life so far. I transferred here to Waldron in the sixth grade and even on my very first day, I felt as if I had been going there for years. My fellow students are amazing and incredible people who inspire me every day and most of my teachers have played a major role in kindling interests that I still have today. I am now in the eighth grade, and everyone in our grade is accepted to the high school of their choice, along with many, many scholarships. The academics have challenged even I, an enthused member of academic programs like CTY. This is a warm, welcoming community of people who have taught me what it is to be merciful.


Posted January 19, 2011

this school was fine. I mean I was in the 5th grade last year and most of my teachers were crabby, spazzy, or just plain mean. The kids there are nice though. But don't waste your money my mom payed over 10,000 dollars for me to go to that school, and when I transfered the next year I didn't even know about half of the suff they were talking about... This school is way to exspensive for a child to come out of it with a whole bunch of gaps


Posted October 28, 2009

I love this school. I am in the middle of my seventh grade year. Ive been here since first grade. The teachers, sports, and atmosphere will have you hooked by the open house. You will want your kids to come here and have a great time like me !
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

This is an awesome school with great sports and amazing teachers who really inspire you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

Our daugher just completed pre-K and she had a great time. Teachers were exceptional. Look forward to this coming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

the academics are amazing along with the art and music programs, sport programs, and extracurricular activities, I would know, because I am a student att this amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2004

Both of my children graduated from Waldron Mercy Academy. Each had unique educational and social experiences that they treasure. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 71%
Black 18% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Good Neighbor Award

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Irish
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nell Stetser
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (610) 664-6364

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: Irish
  • Forensics club
  • Game club
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
102
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
158

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Joseph's Preparatory School
Merion Mercy Academy
Agnes Irwin School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

513 Montgomery Ave
Merion Station, PA 19066
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 664-9847

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Margaret School
Narberth, PA


Merion El School
Merion Station, PA


Cynwyd School
Bala Cynwyd, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT