Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 4

Posted August 01, 2014
- a community member
When you look at this school from afar, you don't see much glamour. However, it is unwise to judge a book by its cover. From experience of moving a lot and changing schools, I can tell you that Minersville by far has a great curriculum for students. Yes, the district is not wealthy nor is it the best in the country, however, this school has great potential. I have attended several "privileged" schools before and after Minersville High, and I can tell you the teachers there did not have the students best interest; they were more interested in tutoring on the side for extra money. The teachers, administration and staff of this school care about their students. And let me tell you, the school spirit in this town is amazing. I've never experienced a school in which students can be seen wearing their pride almost 24/7. Yes, there is drama which occurs everywhere! Yes, the school needs improvement, just like every other school in America. I would definitely advise anyone I know to send their child/children to this school. I would also advise that they take advantage of every opportunity in this school(academic programs, sports, arts, etc.). just like they should in any other school.

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 1

Posted June 20, 2010
- a community member
If your a parent that has high aspirations for your children, then Minersville isn't the school for you. The majority of the students don't care about their coursework and just go through the motions while avoiding trouble. For the small percentage who do care and want to be prepared for college and get into a good school, the opportunity isn't provided. Minersville doesn't have the resources to provide challenging coursework. As a result, the 5 or 6 students who do want to take AP courses etc, are left without anything, which looks horrible on college applications. Besides a few exceptions, the quality of teaching is poor and the focus of the administration is mostly athletics, which Minersville is not particularly good at anyway.


Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 1

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted June 14, 2009
- a community member
Minersville gets a beat down time and time again because we're not the biggest and the best. However Minersville has a rich tradition and I see the district heading to a period of prosperity. I'm an alumnis, graduating in 2008, so I'm familiar with how our school is functioning recently. I'm also an education major (music) so I'm familiar with what needs to be worked on and where our strong points are. Our core subjects in Minersville are very very decent, students complain of course like the ones below and others b/c the feel the need not to do the work and not to work with the instructor. This, of course is a fallacy, and perhaps dicipline must be reformed in the district. Softball tends to thrive in Minersville, as does baseball (2007 state champs) and all other sports have their off and on seasons, all being very reputable however.

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible! The curriculum is below substandard and there is no concern for the students' future once they leave the school.


Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted January 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School 2

Posted November 21, 2006
- a student
The school does not work with all the problems.. and this school is the worst school that has the most drama..I would never tell anybody to send there kid to this school the only thing good at this school is there sports program like soccer football and softball..they are the only good things at this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School
Battlin Miner Dr and Low Rd, Minersville, PA  17954
(570) 544-4761
Last modified Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Minersville Area Junior-Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top