Advertisement
Advertisement

North American Martyrs School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monroeville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

We love NAM. There is another catholic school in our neighborhood but NAM is smaller giving our children a more personal education that a larger school cannot do. We love it here. This year they now go to grade 8 instead of just grade 6. So so happy about that. I just cannot say enough positive things about the school. What a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

The school is perfect for a family interested in growing up a child with family values while receiving a steller education. The mission statement to educate the whole person, body, mind, and spirit is completely true. The school offers inexpensive before and after school care even when there is a school delay due to inclement weather. There are lots of opportunities for family involvement including social events and athletics like basketball and soccer. With the current principal, the school has been thriving so much we are adding 7th and 8th grade classes. All that is missing is you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

We have sent our children to NAM for the last 9 years. It is safe, friendly, wholesome, and very welcoming. Great group of families and teachers. Education is superior. The children always score beautifully on national tests. Wonderful nurturing environment. So grateful to NAM for giving our boys a great start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

The family focus on a christian based welcoming environment enables children to be more successful with learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We have one child at NAM, and fully plan to send our other children there as well. Wonderful administration, hard working and talented staff, and such a great group of dedicated parents. Highly recommended. Just wish NAM went to 12th grade!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I have two children in North American Martyr's school, and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are great, and the school has plenty of activities for the children and their families. Best of all, the children are taught Christian and American values that they wouldn't get in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

What a warm and caring school. My children love it there. I have never seen such dedication from teacher and parents. We all work together as if we were one big family. Come and join us. Our family is growing because we care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

North American Martyrs (NAM) is a fantastic grade school. NAM has a full day Kindergarten and a wonderful before and after school program. The administrators and teachers make a point to get to know each child (and parent if the parent chooses to be involved). They offer music, art, gym, and computer classes (they have their own computer teacher). The children learn to treat each other with respect and kindness. There are no problems with bullying or inappropriate behavior because no one there allows bad behavior to continue. Parents are encouraged to join the PTG and may also be a 'Homeroom parent' to assist with some of the extra community-building activities offered (such as 'field day', 'carnival day', and 'Special Person Lunch' day) See http://www.namschool.org for more details on all that NAM offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Black 3% 16%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2526 Haymaker Rd
Monroeville, PA 15146
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 373-0889

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Monroeville Academy
Monroeville, PA


Ramsey Elementary School
Monroeville, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT