Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gateway Senior High School 5

Posted December 15, 2012
- a parent
We moved here when my son was in middle school. We were new to the country and I was concerned about how he would fit in.Students and teachers alike were very helpful,within a month he made friends and settled down.It did help that he is outgoing and friendly, despite cultural differences he was accepted, which helped his self esteem and built his confidence.There are ample opportunities to excel in both studies and extra-curricular activities, it is up to each child to use them. The teachers and guidance counselors are helpful, you just have to ask for help. We wanted to move him out to a nearby school district for high school which has a better ranking but he refused, and looking back now I am glad he did. He is now in college and doing well. He is happy & well adjusted , we feel that we made the right decision to stay here until he graduated high school. He has developed friendships that will last a lifetime, which in itself is priceless. It is large enough and diverse enough that every child finds their niche here. Thank you Gateway !

Gateway Senior High School 4

Posted February 16, 2012
- a community member
I must disagree with the post regarding gifted education; as a former student, I benefitted from MANY opportunities to challenge myself academically- AP classes, honors classes, and gifted program activities. Yes, Gateway certainly prioritizes athletics, but academics are by no means completely falling to the wayside. As a previous poster mentioned, this is public school- there will almost always be fights; there will always be choices to make regarding with whom you surround yourself. I received an excellent education at Gateway that prepared me for both a bachelor's and master's degree, and am proud to call myself a Gateway grad.


Gateway Senior High School 4

Posted April 21, 2011
- a student
I have been in the Gateway school district my whole life and, in my opinion, Gateway truly shines at the high school level. Its public education so there are going to be a few kids who do not care about their future and look for trouble but at Gateway there are not that many. I am part of the gifted education program and the opportunities that are presented to those who take a proactive approach are wonderful. Also the teachers at Gateway care about how effective they are and work hard to help students succeed. I can honestly say that I am proud to say that I am a Gateway student

Gateway Senior High School 4

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
I have to disagree with parts of the May 5th posting. Yes, there have been girl fights in the cafeteria from time to time. But as far as college credit, AP, honors, and related clubs and activities, you could not possibly have a better school atmosphere. You have to put yourself in the right places and with the right people, just like in the rest of life. This is not a sanitized, Disney-themed place. It is a public school. If you want a place that is completely calm on the surface, just move east where everybody, frankly, is white, but they have huge heroin and other problems b/c with a little more money, kids think they can get away with anything and they try. No place is perfect and Gateway needs to work on the rough culture of some of their kids. But the academics are the real point.

Gateway Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Gateway Elementary through Junior High schools are fine until your kids hit the High School. If you have an academically gifted child, the School district does NOT care about your child. The only thing that GHS is investing its money in these days is athletics. My middle daughter is a sophmore this year and she comes home nearly every day saying that there are student fights in the cafeteria, in the halls, kids getting pushed out of the way from city kids transplanted into Gateway which is where the problems have come from. My oldest graduated in 07 and the school has gone downhill since then. I feel bad for the future students because it is getting dangerous to go to school there. Given a few years it will end up like Penn Hills School district, and that it NOT a compliment!


Gateway Senior High School 4

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Kids are very nice in this multicultural school. Teaching staff can be excellent, especially in the more challenging classes. You get what you put into this place, and there is a niche for every student in terms of extracurriculars and course offerings.

Gateway Senior High School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a student
Gateway High School has excellent honors and AP opportunities, outstanding teachers, and numerous clubs and sports activities that the students can take advantage of. It can take pride in its excellent community service program, and the diversity helps to reduce cliques and stereotypes and promote a healthy learning environment.

Gateway Senior High School 1

Posted May 08, 2007
- a former student
Honestly, from first to sixth grade Gateway was quite enjoyable. However, from seventh until high school, Gateway was a joke. Send your children to a private school. Many of the posts on here state that Gateway only cares about athletics and that is very true. GSHS's teachers are rude and virtually useless - extremely ineffective. The students are also quite immature at Gateway.


Gateway Senior High School 4

Posted February 19, 2007
- a former student
Solid high school with a number of excellent, very dedicated teachers. Lots of good, down-to-earth people on all levels (faculty, staff, admininstration, students). Pretty diverse school racially, ethnically, and religiously. Too much attention to athletics, too little to some academic programs and to the upkeep of restroom facilities. Overall, I got a great education there, and I am forever grateful to the teachers and others with whom I interacted.

Gateway Senior High School 1

Posted February 13, 2007
- a parent
There is a lot of activities. If you want your child to learn, this is not the environment for learning. There is a huge discipline problem through the whole district. Look at the school boards priorities, athletics. The football field is really nice! Parents need to be involved more in the school district. There are always a lot of parents at athletic events, but that is the extent. This district has no plan and it shows in the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gateway Senior High School
3000 Gateway Campus Blvd, Monroeville, PA  15146
(412) 373-5744
Last modified Gateway Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gateway Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top