Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ignatius Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 242 students

We are best known for academics and small community.

 
 

Living in Morrisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

Wonderful school! Couldn't be more impressed by the faculty and the academics. This school turns out highly educated and well rounded children. St. Ignatius is a treasure in Yardley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

This was our first year at Saint Ignatius, thankfully it was a very smooth transition from the public school system. Academics at St. Ignatius are top notch. The emphasis on religion and treating others with kindness and compassion is one of the many reasons we chose this school. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

not good. Our child was not thriving at all and the bad behavior of both parents and students was alarming. The teachers are not very helpful. The school is just too small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I can't say enough good things about our school. I have to say it was the best decision my husband and I made to enroll our child into St. Ignatius. It's a very happy and nourishing environment. The curriculium is amazing and exceed any expectations. As a matter of fact when we compared it with one of supposedly best private school in the area we were blown away. Teachers are helpful, respectful and treat our kids like their own. Principal is very professional and caring. I don't agree with some of the reviews here because it's simply not true. I would encourage anyone who is in the process of searching for school to come and see by themselves. I guarantee you won't be dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Dear Prospective Parents, I invite all parents to formulate their own judgements. We work very hard at St. Ignatius to provide the best possible education and environment for our students. Do we always get it right? No, we are human and make mistakes. But rest assure we try our best to work with a family to take care of their concerns. As far as academics, we had the best Terra Nova scores in Bucks County and our 8th grade students are accepted at the best private high schools. So do not let one person form your opinion - call, come in and see what St. Ignatius can do for your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 26, 2013

They toot their horns about family...more like a dysfunctional family. Few teachers are friendly. Issues don't get addressed. The school is too small, so if you have bad mix of kids in the class, there's nowhere else they can place your child. One class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

We recently moved to the area and came from a public school. I have been extremely impressed with St. Ignatius. What attracted me to it was that it was awarded a blue ribbon of excellence in 2007. The pre-k teacher is amazing, as are her assistants. The first grade teacher is absolutely incredible. My 1st grade son not only gets a great education but he is cared for, unlike my experience in public school. He feels safe and I have never seen him happier. The school is very small too which means more 1:1 attention. Families are very involved - lots of opportunities to make friends, if you want. Children are obviously well loved and cared for - no bullies here. It has only been a few months but so far I feel incredibly blessed that I found this school and that my children are a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

St. Ignatius offers nothing to do other then basket ball and track, and thier acedemics are horrible!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 71%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mary Ann DiTommaso
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (267) 573-3550

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Villa Joseph Marie High School
Notre Dame High School
Nazareth Academy High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

995 Reading Avenue
Morrisville, PA 19067
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 493-3867

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edgewood El School
Yardley, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT