Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nazareth Area Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Great clean and spacious, and the swimming pool is a plus. Even though we're new in the area I heard nothing but good about the school so I'm looking forward to get to know more of this school and my daughter is very excited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

Great school! Clubs are great. Students are expected to succeed and given the tools to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

I love going to Nazareth, it is a great school. The academics are excellent they have CP, honors, and AP. The music department is excellent the band wins like everything, im not kidding. Orchestra is very good too, the teacher is awesome. The athletic department is fantastic their probably isnt a sport you dont know that we do, cause we just added ultimate frisbee. Sports are really competitive here and fun! If a parent wants a well rounded kid, nazareth is the place to send him or her. I do a bit of everything and my life in nazareth is going great and under control.


Posted September 17, 2009

the teachers and staff are great, and always willing to go above just helping students in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

They made a new middle school in the district. I am in the first class of 8th graders attending it. Its an amazing district. The teachers and Principal are very supportive and nice. Now the new middle school is GREAT. It is 100% environmentally friendly. The staff are encouraging us to go green and its really working. There's is a Olympic sized pool there and its amazing. I have lived in Nazareth all my life and i love it. Nazareth area School District is one of the top Districts in the state of Pennsylvania. The new middle school is the ONLY environmentally friendly school in the state also. Trust me you won't regret sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2009

This is an excellent school! My daughter transferred from the elementary school to the middle school and she loves it! She has been a honor roll student and she has advanced to the high honor roll. My daughter is very active in school and I am pleased with the curriculum, the attention and dedication of the teachers, the principal(s), and administrative staff. Thank you for all your hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

i am a student in 8th grade at this school. basiccly there is hardly any bullying anymore with the no tollerance system going on. This website should be updated. the spending per student is well above the state average. We are building a new school to handle the huge amount of new students to our school. So what does that tell you, huh? well anyway everthing here is good, - food, teachers, faculty, and administators. And by the way our school is not falling apart the slightest bit. and when i got a 79 in english i was immediatley given a tutor. There is after school tutoring for every subject every week. The attention to detail at this school is ammazing. Deffinitly recoomend
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

We moved here three years ago from central New Jersey. Dollar for dollar there is no comparison. Nazareth area schools have given my boys a challenging curriculum and the teachers and administrative staff have been very helpful. My boys made friends quickly as the kids out here are light years ahead in manners and fairness as what we left. My boys still thank me frequently for moving to Nazareth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

the teachers are funny, the food is good, the atmosphere is inviting, you learn without knowing it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

We are a group of 8th graders writing this comment. The students at this school have a wide variety of abilities.They help the really low and really high. The new principal Mr. Kern is amazing, he is doing all he can to make this school the best it can be. I just cannot express how much I do not agree with the gifted program. They are treated unfairly, special from many students' points of views, and all of the students writing this are A students, and we all feel that the program is unfair. The extra- curricular activities are wonderful, the academics are challenging, the student body is overall great. I have no complaits with the teachers, they are mostly really great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2007

Grades divided into teams creating an 'us vs. them' mentality in parent / teacher meetings. Parents must schedule meetings with entire team. Bullying is much more of a problem than drugs. Parent involvement unwelcome. Teachers are marking time. Check out the library chandeliers. They cost a mint. Building is only eight years old but is already falling apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

Overrated school district. Obsessed with sports programs. If you need extra help in this district, forget about it. It's all children pushed through the system (NCLB). Most teachers don't go out of their way to do anything but keep track of how many days until retirement. Privileged kids with behavior issues.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Every school district has to have a 'cul de sac' (bottom of the bag) and NASD's Middle School is it. In fairness, this is it's first year with a new principal after years with an ineffective one followed by the last several years with a draconian one. Quality of academics- for the average student, middle school is basically a repeat of 4th and 5th grade in a FINE elementary school (Bushkill). There is no encouragement for average students to do well, not even an effective study skills curriculum to prepare them for high school. Legacy policies discourage interaction between teachers and parents. Many teachers are averse to any parental contact. If you're looking for anything creative, new or exciting in education- don't bother looking here. Admin and faculty are absorbed in maintaining the status quo and staunchly opposed to. Many of the faculty and staff are virtual computer illiterates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

My daughter started 6th grade at the end of the year. Although making new friends was difficult, the teachers and administration were terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

I enrolled my daught at Nazareth Middle School late in the year and was still very pleased at how accepting and welcoming everyone was. The guidance counselor assigned to my daughter was very positive and helpful. She explained everything so well and brought us through the school so my daughter would be comfortable. It is a beatiful school. I found that my child's teachers are accesible to me every school day either by phone or in person. They have a conference period built into their schedule where they discuss things among themselves but at the same time are available for questions or concerns. They have computer class all year long which I think is wonderful. In the few months my child attended, I feel she made great strides in her keyboarding skills. I feel the school is very progressive in it's approach to teaching the students in a positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

The Nazareth Area School District uses 'Classlines' for students and parents to call to hear the homework assignments for the day. This is especially important when a child is ill at home. When I called to report that my child would be absent that day due to illness and requested that his homework be send home with a neighbor's child, I was immediately told to call classlines which I did. The 'Classlines' # for our residence is a local TOLL CALL. The teachers are not trained to update 'Classlines' message, do not have the time. No one in authority apparently monitors this besides the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

The class size in this school seems large, upwards of thirty students per class. New students do not seem to be welcomed or oriented well by the teaching staff. Our daughter transferred to this school in early November and was not provided with information from the teacing staff that had been distributed to the other students at the beginning of the year, yet she was held accountable for the requirements conntained only in that information. Our daughter was in honors programs in her previous school and had an average grade of 94. After three marking periods in this school her average was in the low 80's. Individual attention is not provided. The district is heavily and unnnecessarily bureacratic making it difficult to assign individual accountability or get assisstance with issue resolution. The busses are not state of the art, have no air conditioning and no cameras.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

Not a parent but as a former student I know the quality of this middle school. The teacher staff is the best in the area. Not allowing your kid to come to this school is outrageous. The extra curricular activities are great whether it be band or chorus this school is tops for either one.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

355 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

348 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

363 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

360 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

362 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

363 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)90%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)66%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)76%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)70%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female76%
Male84%
Black92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female96%
Male83%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Black 3% 15%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94 Friedenstahl Ave
Nazareth, PA 18064
Phone: (610) 759-3350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT