Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shenango El School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Piccirillo is a wonder kindergarten teacher. She cares very much about each of her individual students and it shows.

Shenango El School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I have seen the flyer that talks about the Wildcat Way and my daughter has received a couple coupon awards for doing the right thing.


Shenango El School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
The kindergarten teachers are great. I only deducted one point because the nurse does not communicate effectively. I also had contact with the transportation department, the PTO, and the principal. All of those areas were easy to deal with and went out of their way to explain what was required of me as a parent.

Shenango El School 1

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
well another school year is coming up and i hope my child gets a decent teacher this year. the last couple have been a joke. the principal is all smiles and clueless. the nurse? well lets just hope your child doesn't get hurt cause she is horrible. all she is good for is giving out ice for headaches and sore throats...seriously??? your main medicine is ice? it's time for this new superintendent to clean house.

Shenango El School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
shenango lacks the facilities that the other district in the area have, the school has one gym available to use and this causes kids to have to cram in athletics before 6am or later in the day, they need another gym to relieve the pressure on the sports and the students participating.


Shenango El School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
I love this school they have always been great and my son has always had wonderful teachers,except for one year!

Shenango El School 4

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
I think that Shenango is a great school to send a child to, with the exception that they push kids now days a little too hard & give them too many courses in one week. I atteneded Shenango as a child & I didn't do 1/2 of what they are doing today. I believe that they are overwhelming the children & that is why they are not succeeding like they should be. I also feel that my child is safe while attending school here unlike how I would feel if she attended almost any other school here in town. Shenango also allows their kids to wear normal clothes which helps with the costs of not having to pay extra money for uniforms & taking out the childs individuality!

Shenango El School 1

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
I find the classroom management Puritanical, the building administration unresponsive, and the superintendent aloof.


Shenango El School
no rating

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of a Shenango student who is now at the highschool. I think overall they have very weak leadership in principals at the elementary and the highschool. The elementary office staff is not very friendly as compared to the highschool office staff which is awesome. Shenango is not a school that helps parents or deals with bullying issues very well. If I didn't live in Shenango I would never send my child there.

Shenango El School 5

Posted December 06, 2006
- a parent
My son just started school (K) at sheneango but I am very impressede that he is reading and spelling by now, I was also very impressed with the acedemic classrooms in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shenango El School
2501 Old Pittsburgh Rd, New Castle, PA  16101
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (724) 658-5566
Last modified Shenango El School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top