Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Vitus School

Private | PK-8 | 119 students

SVS is best known for our rich history and family atmosphere.
 
 

 

Living in New Castle

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $68,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $648.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Our son transferred to St. Vitus at the beginning of this school year from a local public school. We couldn't be happier with the decision. The whole school has a feeling of calm and order. The academics are great and well laid out. The teachers, principal and staff are kind, easy to get in touch with, and eager to help. Our son has made some great friends, and thoroughly enjoys going to school. Our only regret is not making the change sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

My children love St Vitus school!!! Like many of the kids here they don't want to miss school! The teachers know all the students in all grades and quite often stay after if a child needs any help keeping up. The curriculum is very good and the kids are usually considered advanced when moving on to ninth grade. My kids and I always feel like its one big family environment. They feel very safe here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

Our son is currently in first grade at St. Vitus. As parents my husband and I could not be happier with our decision to send him here. We sent him to kindergarten at public school for the first part of the year and were completely unhappy. He was not learning anything and was completely miserable when he came home from school. Since starting St. Vitus last year he LOVES going to school! He is excited about learning. The faculty is wonderful! Everyone is very helpful and definitely wants their students to succeed. He is learning so much and we are very excited to be sending our second son to the preschool program next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Our two children have been at SVS since Kindergarten, and really love it. We are blessed to have a Catholic school so close to home. I cannot imagine sending my kids to public school after being at St. Vitus. for nearly 6 years. They feel very safe and comfortable here. It is like one big happy family. We are very thankful for our little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I am currently a 6th grade student at SVS. St. Vitus is more than just a school to me. It has a very nurturing environment and a warming family atmosphere. The academics are stellar, and the extra-curricular opportunities are endless. St. Vitus currently offers 4 sports, Basketball, Archery, Cross Country, and Cheerleading. Other Activities include PJAS, Journalism Club, Drama Club, Math Club, Gardening Club, Service Club, Cantor Choir, Forensics Team, much more. SVS produces many plays throughout the year conducted by students in grades 4-8 and several 6-8 grade students produce a monthly newspaper, The Witness. As you can see, St. Vitus has a lot to offer and has other family-oriented activities, such as the Families at Play nights that are held every month. The entire school participates in Friday morning mass every week and every grade has Religion class everyday, which helps enrich the Christ-centered environment at our school. We also have more of a one-on-one learning experience as the student-faculty ratio is 1:10 with an average of around 10-12 students per grade. I am a proud student of St. Vitus and I am blessed to have devoted 8 years of my childhood to SVS so far.


Posted June 16, 2011

My children originally attended a public school. They experienced and witnessed name calling, hitting and bulling. They hated school. I had to fight with them each morning to go to school. My children love school now. Saint Vitus School has been a wonderful experience for both my children and family. My children have learned a deeper and closer relationship with God. The education has been excellent. The teachers tailor their curriculum to the personalities of their students. My children have grown to be beautiful well rounded children. Of course it has been a sacrifice to send my children to Saint Vitus, but it has been worth every cent. I would not change my decision to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

My kids have been at St. Vitus since preschool. They have provided a secure, loving environment that celebrates their individuality while instilling a good sense of moral and ethical values. The smaller enviornment supports a quality education reflected in the strength of their testing scores and performances in academic competitions. Regardless of a child's strengths or weaknesses, the school will work with him/her to be the best person he/she can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

In prior years I have been very happy with St Vitus but this year with Mrs Harvey as 2nd grade teacher my son has gone from loving school to a terrible dread of it. Speaking with other parents I have heard the same stories about this teacher. Next year I need to find a different school for fear of another teacher like Mrs Harvey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I am in 9th grade and I have attended St. Vitus School PK-8th, and I can say that attending St. Vitus has greatly prepared me for highschool and later on in life...
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2009

I am in 9th grade and have attended St. Vitus school from Kindergarden to 8th grade. I absolutely loved that school, I never wanted to leave it. The teachers are the best you will ever find. The school has a close family atmosphere that you will not find anywhere else. Sadly, though, I am now prohibited to even so much as visit the school, so my advice is to enjoy every moment there, because that level of joy you experience at that school will never come to you again, no school is better than St. Vitus school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

It is a very good school. I love that they children learn christianity and school subjects. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have been a student since Kindergarten. I KNOW what i'm saying when I say its the best you can get out of education. All of the teachers are certified professionals who are smart, upbeat, and ready to teach not just math and reading but about the Lord. If your looking for a EXCELLENT school, please, enroll now! --present student of St. Vitus, 8th grader, AV
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2007

This is a great school, your child will learn alot and make many friends. Quality moral values are taught and there is a small teacher to student ratio. I highly recommed it. My daughters loved it there and never wanted to leave. If your deciding your child's school, think about what he/she wants....this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 9%
Black 1% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cathy Ryan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • http://www.stvituscatholicschool.org/con
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Vitus Catholic School is Middle States Accredited.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
119
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
119

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $3000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Fundraising
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 S Jefferson St
New Castle, PA 16101
Website: Click here
Phone: (724) 654-9297

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


West Side School
New Castle, PA




John F Kennedy School
New Castle, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT