Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oaks El School

Public | K-4 | 541 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2013

The teachers at Oaks overall take great interest in their students success. The curriculum is average but there is the opportunity for a gifted student to participate in the AT program which offers enrichment to the curriculum. The Principal's leadership is evident in the overwhelming positive atmosphere of the school. The moment you walk through the doors you will feel the positivity through the welcoming faces of staff and the creative annual themed art adorned on the walls. Just to add---their art teacher and gifted teacher are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

What a great school. My son is in First grade this year and attended KG last year. His answer to "How was the day" moved from "Good" to "Great". :) I am very happy with the staff and teachers who take personal interest in kids. I would rate 9 or 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I have two boys (now 12 and 15) that went through all 5 yrs at Oaks. I can tell you even today, they miss the staff at Oaks and try to visit whenever they can. My younger son was identified by his teacher in 2n grade as needing assistance and joined the IEP program in 3rd grade. The teachers and staff had so much patience with him in not only helping him learn, but to be comfortable with his peers, it was amazing. As a parent I cannot say enough about Oaks and how much they care about their students! He is so proud of his accomplishments and is now a Spring Ford Honor Roll student!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Children love their school and the teachers They work diligently to help students achieve their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

This school is amazing. My son has been experiencing some difficulties with his ADHD, ODD and other issues. The teachers, principle, gym instructor right down to the janitorial staff havebeen so kind and supporting to him and our family. They helped to facilitate him getting the additional help he needed and genuinely cared about his well being and our family. Thank you Oaks, staff and district for all your help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My daughter switched to this school from another in the same district when we moved. So far, nothing to be excited about. She's getting an adequate education I'm sure, but her teacher has done little to help facilitate the transition. I had read reviews of the school here at this site and had high hopes that we had upgraded by moving, but my daughter is lonely here and unhappy enough that we're exploring other education options for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My son transferred to Oaks at 2nd grade. Prior to that, he stayed temporarily (3 months) in an elementary school of the neighbor Methacton School District when my family relocated from Montgomery county, MD where he attended 1st grade in a great public school. He just graduated 4th grade and starting 5th grade at the Spring-Ford Intermediate School. We are really satisfied with the quality of education at Oaks ES. Teachers are highly motivated, driven for best results in all students (not just a selected few. Yes, my son is in their AT program. But I have consistently seen great results from students in his regular class). Leadership and admin at Oaks certainly also deserve the credit too... In my opinion, Oaks is so much better than the elementary school at Methacton. My daughter is 4 now. We definitely want her go to Oaks. Go oaks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

Oaks has been a very good school for us. We are looking to move and one of the hardest things is giving up this school. The principal is very involved with all the kids. They have a great PTA which does so much with the fund raising funds. Every month there is one or more social activities to get the school into the family feeling. Even the office staff is incredibly helpful. Some teachers are better than others. I love the instant communication we have with the teachers via e-mail. I usually hear back within 30 minutes of an inquiry. I do wish there were more things for the gifted kids to do. They meet once a cycle but it seems like it should be more. Overall I would recommend this school and give it a 9 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

Both of my children attended Oaks Elementary. What a great school! From the minute they walked in the door they were surrounded by a quality education from a caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)87%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 3%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Oaks School Dr
Oaks, PA 19456
Phone: (610) 705-6008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chesterbrook Academy
Phoenixville, PA


Arrowhead El School
Collegeville, PA


Audubon El School
Audubon, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT