Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Great News from Andrew Jackson where we are "Working United Towards Excellence" Jackson has a brand new Library! Stay tuned for our grand opening. We are also going green. Jackson received a grant to fund a Rooftop Rain Barrel Garden project through Recycle Bank. It is part of our effort to lead the community in green initiatives. Also coming in April a beautiful mosaic mural made by our students, families and CosaCosa community partners will be gracing the front of our classic building. All funded through a grant from Penn. Citizens for Children and Youth.
January 30, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jackson Andrew School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Principal Kaplan is the 2015 winner of the Escalante–Gradillas Prize for Best in Education. Way to go Lisa!

Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a community member
Principal Kaplan has worked tirelessly to get Jackson a fantastic PlaySpace, a redone multipurpose space and to make Jackson one of only two schools in Philadelphia following a private school Integrated Literacy Model with technology in K-3. They also have a Stem Fellowship with Philadelphia Waterworks, a robotics club with the US Navy and a Science club with Temple University. All new this year. I love this school!


Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Jackson is a great choice for any student. The principal is amazing and all of the children love her! The entire school is focused on Positive Attitudes and the climate is respectful and calm. The children get exposure to all of the Arts and have opportunity for advanced programs! I am so glad we have a school like Jackson in our neighborhood!!

Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
We have a first grader and second grader at Jackson. We love the teachers, the principal, the diversity, and walking to our local public school every morning! Thank you, Jackson community for everything you do! The school gets better every year!

Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school with incredible community support, great teachers, and an amazing principal. My daughter enjoys it immensely.


Jackson Andrew School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is the worst!!!! The principal isn't for the students at all and allows her staff to bully the children. This should have been one of the school that were closed.Teacher bullying doesn't count as it would for student to student! Any type of complaint to the district falls on deaf ears! Hite could careless as long as he stills gets paid. I contacted his office to much dismay. I am so glad we have moved to Atlanta and my children didn't finish their schooling within the Philadelphia District because the children are doomed for failure because the principal and staff make up their own rules. The district needs a universal handbook that all schools must abide by and not allow the staff to dish out different consequences to some students and not others when the same behavior has been displayed! Goodbye to this awful school!!!!!!

Jackson Andrew School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I am a former high school teacher and now run a teacher education program at Penn. I've been in and worked with lots of schools. As a parent and educator I'm very happy to have this public school in our neighborhood. Something special is going on here - a great leader and dedicated staff members are working together along with parents and members of the community to build a strong instructional program. You can tell a lot about a school from the energy in the halls when you enter, and this school has great energy. Every time I've been in the building I've seen happy kids engaged in learning.

Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
This school is a hidden gem in the neighborhood with great teachers and an ever expanding activities for students and the community. The rock band HOME is amazing, and a great outlet for all students. They recently received funding to expand the roof top garden, and begin a new project for a playground in the school yard! This is the 3rd year with principal Kaplan, and the school is thriving under her leadership.


Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Andrew Jackson is a school that constantly impresses me with the amount of love and enthusiasm it has for enriching children's lives. Each staff member and teacher has a level of commitment that astounds and the principal is amazing!!!!!!!! Additionally, the parent involvement at this school is impressive. I cannot wait for my daughter to attend!

Jackson Andrew School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Andrew Jackson is such an enriching part of our neighborhood. I love all of the programs that are happening with the roof top garden and their amazing band. It is clear that this school is working to be one of the best in the city. I am proud to have it in my community!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Andrew School
1213 South 12th St, Philadelphia, PA  19147
(215) 952-6223
Last modified Jackson Andrew School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Andrew School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top