Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


General Philip Kearny 4

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at Kearny since Kindergarten. She was a shy timid little lady who has sense blossomed into a lively, talented, strong minded 5th grader. With the help of Kearny's staff and awesome former principal Mrs. Spagnola of course. The new principal is rather nice. I haven't had much interaction with him but for the most part he's getting the job done. I just wish he didn't make the kids stand in the rain in the morning. That kinda sucks. They used to be allowed to go straight to the auditorium.

General Philip Kearny 4

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
My daughter spent 5 amazing years at Kearny. She had some of the best teachers we have ever encountered. They nourished and encouraged her love for learning, they gave her an excellent base as she moved on to one of the top magnet schools in the city. I would recommend this school very highly!


General Philip Kearny 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
Kearny Elementary is enjoying a Renaissance! We are under the leadership of a new principal, Mr. Dan Kurtz. Principal Kurtz is dealing with school climate with firmness and compassion and supporting our strong teaching staff with best practices and high expectations. We also have a beautiful new wing for upper grades, including a state of the art gymnasium. We are neighborhood school that is excelling in a time of limited resources.

General Philip Kearny 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Kearny are wonderful! The only problem was school climate issues - this was due to a principal who did not hold students (and parents) accountable for their behavior. There is a new principal as of the 2013-2014 and things are very different. The school has a new playground, beautiful and spacious gymnasium, fresh paint and a new wing for the 7th and 8th grade classes. Kearny is becoming more diverse socially and economically. With our new principal, Mr Kurtz, leading the charge, it is a new and wonderful era for Kearny. We have always been impressed by the quality of the teachers at Kearny. My child really loves this school and so do I. Parent Involvement gets 3 stars right now because we need more help but I imagine that will change!

General Philip Kearny
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
I love Kearny school because of its diversity.


General Philip Kearny 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school -- the teachers are dedicated and passionate about what they do, the principal is a strong force in keeping the school great, and the students love their school and their teachers. My daughter is in 3rd grade and I highly recommend it.

General Philip Kearny
no rating

Posted December 09, 2008
- a parent
I think this school is great! My son reading skills have grown out of this world. The teachers are great also! The principle is outstanding!

General Philip Kearny 5

Posted January 14, 2006
- a parent
General Phillip Kearny school under the Pricipalship of Ilene Spagnola is GREAT! I have had great experiences with the staff and curriculum that this school provides. Nine years ago my oldest daughter was a student at Kearny. As a result is was accepted to the top Middle school in the State of Pennsylvania, JR Masterman. She was determined to be Mentally Gifted and appropriate academic, emotional and social services were delivered to her. I currently have my youngest of two daughters enrolled in Kearny. She is in Kindergarten and doing Phenonminally. As an educator myself I am genuinely pleased with the level of competetive academics my daughter is receiving.

Nearby schools

General Philip Kearny
601 Fairmount Ave., Philadelphia, PA  19123
(215) 351-7343
Last modified General Philip Kearny is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top