Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jenks John S School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs Lynskey for creating an environment where teachers, students, parents and staff work together for the betterment of the children and community.

Jenks John S School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very engaging and communicate with parents on the child's progress or areas for improvement along with suggested tools or strategies to improve.


Jenks John S School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Students that need to be challenged more receive additional work either through clubs or the MG program.

Jenks John S School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Students have roles within the school, ranging from flag raisers and fish feeders for the lower grades to Student Ambassadors in the middle school academy.

Jenks John S School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
We have three children that attend Jenks. The true testament of how great the school is my second grade son came up to me on a Sunday afternoon and said "mom, I love Jenks." Our family attended another city school last year and the same second grader struggled to wake up in the morning, and was not always well behaved in class. We believe the environment at Jenks is condusive to the child's academic and social development. He now enjoys school so much, he's up and ready to go without any struggle. My other two children enjoy the school and it's many oppurtunities as well. The staff and faculty are great. The parent participation and opportunities to volunteer as well as the engagement of the community makes Jenk a true neighborhood school and should be the model school for the Philadelphia School District.


Jenks John S School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Jenks is a wonderful community of dedicated teachers and amazing families! With everyone working together and support from the surrounding neighborhood, we have created a caring, innovative learning environment. The school offers a safe, nurturing space for the students during school hours and through afterschool activities and community events. It truly is a model of a great neighborhood school doing what it can with limited resources, but plenty of enthusiasm and commitment.

Jenks John S School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Above average, I love the teachers in this school, they are excellent and really care about their students.

Jenks John S School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Jenks is what a great public school should be. There is a core of great teachers with a very dedicated principle working to make the absolute best out of the difficult situation that is a fact of life for Philadelphia public schools. There is a strong group of dedicated parents who also work hard to help.


Jenks John S School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Jenks is an amazing public school that continues to thrive in the face of ridiculous challenges. It is a real community, filled with dedicated teachers, a principal with real vision, and terrific parents who are deeply invested in public education. My daughter is entering the second grade, and adores the school. She has learned far more in her two years at this urban school than the children of many of my friends attending affluent suburban schools. I'd also like to note that my daughter comes from a two-mom family. She has never experienced the slightest amount of bullying or differential treatment, and my partner and I feel completely comfortable and welcomed at the school.

Jenks John S School 4

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
The community and staff at Jenks is top notch. The teachers and school support staff are doing amazing work with a bare bones budget, through their dedication, the support of the Friends of Jenks organization, and great HSA/parents. Everyone I have net or interacted with has been lovely and checked-in. My daughter has made close friends and they are all nearby, a great benefit of a neighborhood school! She enjoys art, music, gym, the vegetable gardens, the playground, and a strong STEAM and math/reading curriculum which is continuing to grow every year. The only way to keep things growing and improving is through committed families joining us! Hope to see you at a kindergarten tea or event this year :)

Nearby schools

Jenks John S School
8301 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19118
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (215) 248-6604
Last modified Jenks John S School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top