Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shawmont School 2

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Terrible experience with teachers not actually teaching. My kids got straight As, which could not be substantiated through graded work.

Shawmont School 4

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
School is very convenient for my children and there doing lots of new things this year..


Shawmont School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a pre-schooler and the Bright Futures program is wonderful. The teacher, Mrs. Magdavitiz, is kind and caring and an overall great teacher.

Shawmont School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
The years before leading up to when my own kids would go to school were good, positive, praising of how good the teachers are, the wonderful work that home and school Association does, and the principals hand on how well the school functioned. I only hope that with a lot of the school cuts.... things won't change for my children. We have been very pleased to experience Shawmonts good reputation. We feel the good structure happening at this school.

Shawmont School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is going to the Bright Futures program and I couldn't be happier with her teacher. Mrs. Magdovitz is a loving, caring teacher. I know my daughter is in wonderful hands when I drop my daughter off in her class.


Shawmont School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Shawmont is one of the best schools in Philadelphia. Our music program is wonderful. Our teachers truly care about the kids. Our Home and School is fantastic and we really support our kids and the teachers.

Shawmont School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Shawmont is a phenomenal school. The teachers and administration are top notch. The Home & School Association is extremely active and parents are always welcome at the school for any reason, from volunteering to observing.

Shawmont School 3

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
My children attended this school for 2 years. The teachers in the lower grades were wonderful, caring, and worked with my children to meet their needs. I found some of the administration to be unprofessional and lacking. For philadelphia county this was considered a great school, but the county is a mess so that isn't saying much. No grass, swings, slides or fields just a cement yard for the kids to play and a few basketball hoops with chain nets. Parking is terrible and my request for a specialist was ignored. Children in the upper grades are bused in from West Philly and some of them are pretty rough around the edges. The teachers are trying but the admin is lacking. This school is better than most in the county, but you could definitely do better elsewhere.


Shawmont School 2

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
When my child first attended Shawmont, I thought "now this is a great school". Teachers were hands on and the principal seemed to be very involved. Now 7 years later I am so disappointed in this school. If I had the money I would take my child out now and let him finish at a private school. The teachers don't care anymore and principal is so out of touch with the students and parents, it's pathetic. The whole Phila. School System stinks and Shawmont has definitely gone downhill. Keep your eyes and ears open because they won't tell you anything as far as your child is concerned. Can't wait until graduation.

Shawmont School 3

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
I feel the school lacks the leadership skill it needs to take it from a good school to a great school. Some of the teachers are the best you will find while others are just buying time. There are some parents that are very involved but we could use more parents cooperation to take this school to the next level. I would love to see this school become a 5 star school its just not there yet. Many things go unaddressed do to weak leadership.

Nearby schools

Shawmont School
535 Shawmont Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19128
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (215) 487-4466
Last modified Shawmont School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top