Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lawton Henry W School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
I would like to express my gratitude to Ms. Sonya Umble. She is my daughter's 3rd grade teacher. Ms. Umble is an amazing teacher that genuinely cares about my daughter's progress. She emails me with information pertaining to my daughter's progress. We have a positive parent/teacher relationship. I commend her for doing this as well, it takes a lot of time and energy teaching the young ones and yet she finds time to contact me. She is very much appreciated!

Lawton Henry W School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a current student and she loves it. At first I didn't want to place her in a public school but this school is different. Great staff and curriculum. My daughters an honoroll student and I proud to have placed her there. The principal Mrs. Imes is one of the best principals in The Philadelphia school district.


Lawton Henry W School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
I came from this school and it is great. Teachers are by your side. This school has prepared me for middle school and now I'm in high school.It's like one big family and I think your child should go there I never got in a fight in that school. Trust me they don't tollerate it.

Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Hello I was a student a Lawton. Trust me that was a great school the teachers got you prepared for what was coming. I am going to high school now and I have learned a lot from that school. I never got in a fight in that school not once. Parents need to talk to there children because if you don't they will just take it out on people. Lawton was a great school. Has great teachers staff and wonderful principal. Adali lopez

Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted November 29, 2009
- a parent
im not really happy with some teachers. My daugther was there just one year. That's year no was really good for her.


Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
best teachers,principal & students

Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
I like Lawton alot I am well respected when I walk into the school everyone knows me by name.My daughter finished fifth grade there,and my son is in fifth grade this year,My children learned at this school they are on high reading levels and good at math.I want to thank this school for all they done.

Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted May 31, 2009
- a teacher
As a teacher, I have noticed tremendous changes at Lawton. The positives are that we have a new extension to the building, and a wonderful staff and Principal. We also have some nice families with nice children in our building. The problem is lack of parental support. When your child enters school, it is the beginning of a partnership between the home and the school. The common goal is to look out for your child's best interest. Unfortunately, too many parents here at Lawton do not take or accept the responsibility of raising their children properly. We try to teach proper manners and morals in school, but if they aren't reinforced at home, the child will never learn of the appropriate way to act. Parents, you are the key to your child's success in life. Do your job and we'll do ours.


Lawton Henry W School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2009
- a parent
I really like this school. I was hoping that my son got Ms. McIntyre in first grade and he did. Now I know why everyone speaks so highly of her. She is wonderful!

Lawton Henry W School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I think Lawton is a very good school the teachers and other staff do all they can to keep the bulling out of Lawton. It is not easy to be a teacher today. Children go to school tired, hungry and angry sometimes they just want to talk. but classes are getting bigger so teachers may not have time to talk to that child who has had a bad night. But they try. The Principal at Lawton tries She can't solve every thing But she will take time to talk to a child no matter if the child was right or wrong. People blame the school for kids fighting not learning and being rude All of this starts in the home. If a child is hungry or tired he or she has a bad day A Good nights sleep Full belly and Trust something all kids need

Nearby schools

Lawton Henry W School
6101 Jackson St, Philadelphia, PA  19135
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (215) 335-5659
Last modified Lawton Henry W School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top