Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bridesburg School

Public | K-5 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2010

i loved this school. i learned everything here. :) i love this school. <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

I went to Bridesburg Elementary, and I moved back to the neighborhood so my children to go there too. It is consistently rated in the top 5 schools in the city and state year after year. I only wish they would have been successful in extending the grades from 6th through 8th in time for my son to stay at Bridesburg. I am proud to be a Bridesburg alumnist and parent! As far as a couple of negative reviews that I read here, you can't please everyone, no matter how good you are - and remember kids will be kids - they like to run and play, especially when they are out of school! In closing I love this school and always feel that my children are safe and being taught to be the best they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

It is not very well organized and the teaching staff is very unfriendly. The children stand on there lines at dismissal time and when the bell rings they just all run rampid. Its rediculious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

my 3 kids went to bridesburg this school is a great school the principal is great . i love this school and so did my kids i wish all school in philadelphia would be like this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

My four children goto bridesburg. We just picked up there report cards for the second report period and my two sons are on the honor roll for the second report period. my daughters grades went up from last month. I wnt to say this school has great teachers and I am proud my children attend this school. The principal treats and cares for all the children like there his own and nows everyone of his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I am a mother of seven children. I have 4 children that attend bridesburg and it is there first year. Already seeing so much improvement from my second grader. Last year he could not get more then 2 right on any spelling or reading test. Already on his 1st test came home with a100. My children love the school. My other three love the school to. Besides that the principal really loves these kids. I feel comfortable sending my children to this school. They are getting the best education from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My son has ADD and has been treated wonderfully by his teachers, counselor, reading resource room personnel and staff. I couldn't be more pleased. He has learned so much in class and through the reading room resource center, I can never thank the school and staff enough! The teachers and counselor truly care and give my child the best any child could ask for. I volunteered full-time last year at the school so I know how dedicated, devoted and caring these educators are first-hand. Thank you Bridesburg School for your devotion to our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

Bridesburg is not a very good school if your child has a learning disability or ADHD (or any disabilty for that matter). My stepson was sent home his second day of kindergarten and told he had to be treated for ADHD. Once he was on medication, they let him back into school and put him in the special needs classes. Every other day, literally, he was getting sent home because they refused to deal with him or offer any help. We have since moved and he is in another local Philadelphia school and is doing wonderful. He is in 3rd grade now and mainstreamed in Science and Social Studies. He goes to a resource room for reading and writing. They also helped to get him a TSS worker to help throughout the day--BIG improvement. He has not been sent home once in the two years he has attended this other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Best comprehensive school available. My wife and five children attended and I taught there as an intern 2003 to 05.Teachers scheme and even move into Bridesburg to become part of this staff.Experience level is high and participation in ongoing training is constant.Principal is tough, talented and devoted. School counsler is exceptional. Literacy, Math and computer teachers are unusualy integrated into the fabric of the school. Teachers and students alike rely on them. Physical plant is well maintained but crowded. Class size is at maximum at all times. Portable classrooms are ok but classes are also held in library and music uses a storeroom. Parent involvement is high and nurtured by the staff. Home and school needs more hands.The recreation center next door and the highly regarded local boys and girls club run after school programs. Especially in the leadership positions.Overall this is the school evryone wishes they went to.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2005

Bridesburg School is a fantastic school. My daughter loves going to school and loves to learn whatever the teacher is reviewing each day. This is because of the teachers and the principal. The principal, Mr Boehringer, encourages his teachers and the children. He cares for each child as if they are his own. The teachers foster learning in a fun enviorment that makes children want to learn. I only wish more parents would be involved in scholl activities and the Home and school association. Learning occurs at home as well as at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

#1 School in the state. Not much more needs to be said, but should. This school is only this good because of the principal, E. Boehringer and his staff. They work together like a fine machine. They all go the extra mile for the children. After all that is what it is all about, the children. He makes parents want to be involved with what is going on. I have 2 son's that go to this school and another that will be starting in Sept. 2004. I consider my children to be very lucky to be able to attend such a wonderful school and have such great teachers. My hat goes off to this school and all involved in making it as great as it is. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I am a parent of 5 children that attended,and also a former student. It's a great school, although I feel the learning system itself has changed.If you have a child that is not so smart and has a reading disability it never gets fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female74%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female84%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female64%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female79%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female49%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female46%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Female37%
Male24%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 71%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2824 Jenks St
Philadelphia, PA 19137
Phone: (215) 537-2515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Sullivan James J School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT