Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Public
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 845

2 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Allen Ethan School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a community member
I attended Ethan Allen Elementary from grades 6-8; my experience there has taught me a great deal about poor educational administration and pedagogy. As an aspiring educational leader, I have often referenced Ethan Allen in order to provide examples of what not to do. There is ample bullying, lack of disciplinary procedures, no accountability, sheer racism (from faculty, students, and parents), extreme indicators of poverty, and absolutely no value added on part of its teachers. The culture is not conducive to learning and there is a dire lack of support. If this school has taught me anything, it is how to escape and reform such egregious conditions.

Allen Ethan School 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a community member
I currently attend Allen Ethan School and everybody has it all wrong. Its not the teachers or the staff thats the problem, its the parents and the students . I have been getting my education at Allen Ethan from K-8. If the parents cared about their children they would do research on the school and find out if its a good fit for their child or not. If the students cared about their life they would pay learn and set them selves up for a great life. I was one of the few that actually cared. I was recently accepted to Central High School, the best High School in Philadelphia. Its not about where you are, its about where you are going to end up.


Allen Ethan School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
i am a student at Ethan Allen and i am in 7 grade this is the worst school i been at people fight every day my PSSA went down i am on proficent now i am on basic so this is the wrost school and i didn't learn half the staff i need to learn pppppplease HHHHEEELLLPPPP ME :(

Allen Ethan School 1

Posted March 23, 2011
- a community member
Deeply troubled school. Serious problems with overcrowding & disorganization. Bullying and misbehavior disrupt large amounts of instructional time. Administration overburdened and ineffective. NOTHING gets resolved and students are suffering.

Allen Ethan School 1

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
please I need concrete information about the school, because I moved near the school and I have a son who goes to that school and want to know if the school is reliable and good to enroll my child. Please I need information as soon as possible, thank you very much.


Allen Ethan School 1

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
My one child was assaulted by six students at Ethan Allen in her classroom. My 2nd grader had a pocket knife held to his throat. I never received any notification from any administrators on either incident. There is a predominance of bullies and lack of responsibility by the adults.

Allen Ethan School 2

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
ethan allen is a greta school!teacher are great,principal very lovebal and helpfull to the school.

Allen Ethan School 1

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Allen Ethan School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a student
i have been in Ethan Allen likeee my whole life & i love it.i think that it is the best school ever.i learned so muchhh here and i would never change anything about it.well maybe there lunchs but other then that i love it.i really dont know where i would be without the help of the teachers there.some parent may think that this school is not the right one for there kid but you know what your kids are the ones missing out.i love it here!!

Allen Ethan School 0
no rating

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
This school is wonderful, my son has learned a lot from his teacher, Mr. L is a great guy and an awesome teacher!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Allen Ethan School
6329 Battersby St, Philadelphia, PA  19149
(215) 537-2530
Last modified Allen Ethan School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Allen Ethan School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top