Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Comly Watson School

Public | K-5 | 510 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

Comly is very good considering all the mess that the incompetent people at city hall have created. The school fair on a weekend kinda sucked this year, and the lunch periods just seem too military like. But people seem to really care and my kid seems to be at a good level in all areas. He has attended kindergarten and 1st grade there. Hopefully the mayor and his cronies can get more help to all the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Yes school is great,but like a place where you can spend time.There is such a nice and friendly staff.All of them:teachers, assistants lunch room ladies,bus drivers,but ,you know, our academical program could be much better.My son a 2nd grader now,and they still learn a kindergarten level staff now.They have absolutely no challenge at school.So sad.A lots of bright student have to repeat the same things a hundred times..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

Our bus driver this 2013-14 year is such a nice lady! She always comes exactly on time & waits for a min or two for us to get to the bus. She would always smile & make me feel relieved for our hectic mornings. We're lucky & I trully hope she continues to come at least till the end of the school year.. Once I dealt with the new Principal over the e-mail & the next time it was proved the problem was solved. The teacher is also nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

Comly is a wonderful school. I grew up in Phila. and have attended many differwnt schools in the city due to my parents moving often so I know a good school! My child is in 1st grade and has been going here for two years. She absolutely loves it. They are very family oriented and do a lot of fundraising to be able to get the kids new things fpr the classrooms including smart boards. The staff is wonderful, the new principal kept things the same. The school os clean, they are just awesome. My daughter can't wait to get there each morning. My only complaint is thay the school busses are not really on schedule. They come early and don't wait, and some times are an hour late with no notice to us parents but this is NOT the schools fault! If the bussing situation was under control it would be amazing . Hands down THE best elementary school in the Philadelphia School District!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter has been attending comly since 2009. She's always succeded the teachers are excellent. They are a safety school. Very careful & cautious. Always hit academic progress every year. My daughter gets above average reading levels. I love this school and my daughter will graduate she will def be coming back to visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

As a former parent of a child who graduates from Comly elementary, I am shocked at the low reading scores. My daughter graduated in 2011. Her love of reading started in 1st grade (thanks to her teacher) and has continued. Comly had a great Read to me(kindergarten) and Reading on own(1st-5th) with log sheets program. I believe they continued this, but not as progressive as it once was. Comly was once a great school with caring and loving teachers - Mostly all have now retired. I'm sure the new teachers are very good but something appears to be missing.


Posted April 30, 2013

Our school is not that bad.Teachers is good.I talk about K and 1st grades teachers,because my son is only at 1st grade now.School stuff is nice and friendly.The worst part is a menu at lunch..It's terrible,but it is not schools fault,of course.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Not happy about Mrs.Zoo's constant yelling at my kids in the lunchroom. They also have the children stand against the wall all period of lunch. Teachers are ok and principal too. Not at all happy with lunch hour though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Caring enviroment, including all of the teachers, office staff, lunch staff, and parents. everyone seems to pull together. And they taught my son to read in 60 days.... AMAZING!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

Comly has excellent teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Excellent school and neighborhood. The principal attends every event and fundraiser at school, she really should be commended for the effort and difference she has made at comly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

The faculty and staff are fantastic! They truly love to help the children grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I think this is a great family involved school, and my child loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010


—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

Couldn't ask for a better elementary for my children. The principal and teachers are wonderful. Too bad the middle school is so far away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

THis school has very high academic programming and standards, the arts are infused with the academics, and the staff is super-involved in helping to provide the best environment and structure for learning!The students have many opportunites to be involved in extra curricular activities which enhance their well-roundedness
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

It is the best Elementary school in the far northeast area I think. My daughter has been at Comly since Kindergarten and will graduate from 5th grade this year. All the teachers and new principal care so much about the children. The computer teacher/MG teacher is fantastic and this year they added full time art which had been missing for years. I am also member of the H&S and have been helping out since my daughters first year there. I just wish the school could go up to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

Comly is a GREAT school both of my children are enrolled there, they have the arts, music, etc, Teachers are wonderful,and the New Principal is outstanding. An excellent enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

WT Comly is one of the finest public elementary schools in Philadelphia, with motivated students, caring, committed educators and an family atmosphere. I can't think of anywhere in the City I'd rather work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

I have no problem with this school. My son does outstanding and the math game that is on the internet for his school he loves my son is Shnae Connolly room 216
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female85%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female88%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female80%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female78%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female70%
Male89%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female74%
Male58%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 71%
Black 14% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Terri Salvucci

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Byberry Rd
Philadelphia, PA 19116
Phone: (215) 961-2008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Christopher School
Philadelphia, PA



Calvary Christian Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Loesche William H School
Philadelphia, PA


Philadelphia Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA


Woodhaven School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT