Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-4
Public
Philadelphia, PA

2 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Girard Stephen School 4

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
A great school with great teachers. The school has extra curriculars and helping student for more in study.

Girard Stephen School 1

Posted May 21, 2011
- a parent
This is my sons 2nd year at this school,and it seems to me that there's no communication between the teachers & the parents . My sons teacher is telling me she's making him repeat 1st gr. due to his reading level. Well on his 3rd report card he received all A & B's & I think 1 C. Which was a GREAT improvment on his behalf he worked hard to bring up his grade in Reading & Math ! I want to know why ??? They never put anything about him being in danger of failing on it. As a matter of fact in all of his subjects everything was Satisfactory! That alone confuses me .... PLEASE HELP


Girard Stephen School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
A great school that is concerned about helping all children achieve their academic goals.

Girard Stephen School 3

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Girard Stephen School 3

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
My son has attended Stephen Girard for one year. They have a new principal and have added new staff. The teacher quality is great as is the administration. However, Stephen Girard is suffering from the lack of funding prevelant in most urban public schools. Parent involvement could be greatly improved.


Girard Stephen School 2

Posted July 15, 2006
- a parent
The quality of the acedemic programs leave alot to be desired. Both of my children attended Stephen Girard and both are way below the academic criteria even after extra-carricular help was taken. Most of the children are violent & children who want to learn are too scared to speak up.The teachers try real hard but the lack of parent participation and effort has the school failing miserably.

Girard Stephen School 1

Posted May 09, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Girard Stephen School 1

Posted February 16, 2005
- a parent
Poor academics in that there are no extra curriculars other than PE.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Girard Stephen School
1800 Snyder Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19145
(215) 952-8554
Last modified Girard Stephen School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Girard Stephen School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top