Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pollock Robert B School

Public | K-6 | 732 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Pollock elementary school is one of the best schools my daughter has ever gone to. The involvement of the teachers and staff is great. They offer art and music for my child. This is a new school year for my daughter at Pollock and she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My son went to Robert Pollock Elementary School and I can say it's not bad and it's great either. There are some great teacher and there is some impatient teacher. The receptionist was OK then they will help you right away. But they are not the top of stopping the bullying. I am great that my son was done in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

Blue ribbon! The teachers are dedicated, and they work hard. The extra (academic and social) programs that are available for students are Extended Day, Accelerated Reader, First In Math, Study Island, the Food Trust, Eat Right Now, DARE, Brain Child, Pollock Naturalists, Actor's studio, Line Dancing, band, orchestra, choir, charm club, and soccer. Not all schools provide these opportunities, -they are extra. Pollock has achieved a National Blue Ribbon from the United States Department of Education- based on the overall academic excellence, test scores, and services available, and has made AYP for 7 years in a row! That's an amazing set of credentials for a school that has taken a lot of criticism on this site. No school is perfect, but Pollock earned the highest, most prestigious award in the nation.....because teachers work hard to see that all students achieve. Test scores show- they do!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2008

The school is great and so is the new principal. The students love her as do the parents. The changes in this school have been long overdue. The old administration and so called leaders had too much power.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

My son has attended Pollock for the past 3 years, & is entering 6th grade. I am disappointed with this school. They have a great Math program, but lacking in reading. In 5th grade, the list of books my son was tested on (either that they read themselves or that were read to them) were below grade level (ie a 3rd grader could read them) for which they earned AR points. When I questioned him, the answer was 'That was what was available'. He receives very little homework and there is very little 'challenge' to the overall education. My son also had 'issues' with one or two students, and the administration was not too effective in solving the problem. When I suggested a face to face meeting with myself, the school, the other student and his parents, the answer was 'We don't do that.' The problem still continues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Let me tell you about Pollock school. In my view, conditions are really getting worse. My goodness - There is not one good place for the children in this great big school to wash their hands with soap and hot water. There is no restroom in the lunch area and staff is not permitted to routinely send the students to a restroom to wash their hands before they eat their lunch. Not that that would help much. The sinks barely have any water pressure and I have never gotten any of them to get hot water. The soap dispensers and paper towels are sub-par also. I honestly feel that this school is full of germs! It is disgusting. This is just one reason that I do NOT recommend that you send your children here. I have worked here a long time and I see a lot of unpleasant stuff that goes on.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 16, 2007

It seems that when my elder childrens went here they learned better and had a funner time doing so. My youngens just do not seem to be as enthused. If you ask me that there principal is the problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. Its outstanding reading intervention program dramatically deteriorated last year when the teacher who ran the program left the school. Now, that program is currently mediocre at best. The people who run this school seem to be frequently very disorganized and unmotivated. I feel very strongly that they are lacking in the key elements of creativity and intellect required to capture the attention of the students. My children and their peers soon tired of the boring and predictable routine. I just don t feel that this is the best learning environment for children. There are some potentially outstanding teachers at this school. My children are now much happier in their new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

This school is riding on it's reputation. It has many good teachers, but the leadership is in need of change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I absolutely love Pollock Elementary School! The level of academics is outstanding. The staff/teachers make every effort to pull the full potential out of their students. My son in 2nd grade now and his teachers have always taken an interest in not only his academic, but personal growth and development. They seem to really be in tune with their students and can sense when something's 'not quite right'. Throughout the year, they have subject related events so that the family and student can be involved in the child's learning process, such as 'Family Reading' night or 'Science & Math' night. They've even had a 'Slumber Reading Party' where the parents & kids came to school in pajamas to read together in the library with hot chocolate and sleeping bags. They really strive to make learning a fun, family affair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

My child has been at Pollock Elmentary school for the last two years. My son loves Pollock school. The teachers are excellent! My son is very happy at Pollock, which means I am happy. I would recommend this school to parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

My daughter went to this school in 2003 and I have taken her out to go to a school closer to home, but now she will go back to this school because they have the program that is best for her. I am so glad to be putting her back in this school. The program for deaf children you will never find anywear else better then this school, I hope my daughter is happy to go back here and see her friends that she made there before she left there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
51%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female74%
Male70%
Black66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female77%
Male67%
Black77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Black79%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female74%
Male53%
Black61%
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female75%
Male74%
Black64%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male81%
Black79%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)56%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female65%
Male51%
Black43%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students37%
Female58%
Male21%
Black35%
Asian53%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female78%
Male53%
Black52%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learners46%

Reading

All Students49%
Female68%
Male29%
Black44%
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 35% 15%
White 30% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 10% 9%
Two or more races 8% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2850 Welsh Rd
Philadelphia, PA 19152
Phone: (215) 961-2004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Jerome School
Philadelphia, PA




Holme Thomas School
Philadelphia, PA


Farrell Louis H School
Philadelphia, PA


Politz Hebrew Academy
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT