Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harding Warren G Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

Harding is a filthy school there are dried up pieces of gum on the walls and mice roam the classrooms.You can see the layer of dirt. most students are out of hand and crazy rude very few are nice.You learn a little instead of a lot. Some teachers can't conroll the students creating one agonizing hour..I'd rate this school a zero if I could!:(


Posted November 20, 2010

After attending James J. Sullivan Elementary, I then went to Harding, and what a mess that was. While in Sullivan, I was in the mentally gifted program from grade 1-5. Upon arrival to Harding, I was placed in a remedial class until 7th grade when they finally admitted to their mistake. By that time, I pretty much already gave up in the Philadelphia Public School system, and went downhill from there. Thanks, Harding!


Posted October 19, 2010

I am from Bucks County and the schools here in Phila. are horrible. One thing I've notice that there's not that much communication about programs and projects. I am use to some type of written flyer sayin g what is going on and when. I understand that the students have these inschool parties where they dress down and there is a small fee, however I seem to find out 1-2 days before, and I am still trying to find out if basketball is in school or PIAA. The kids in Harding come from a lot of different back grounds with a lot of peer preasure, and some of the parents are not on the side of education. I beleive that September the parents are invited to hear what the school entends it shouls be repeated sometime in January also to keep everyon on the same page
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

My daughter attended 6th grade at this school last year... we both dont like this school.. the students are totally disrespectful. The teachers are pretty good and helping us get through.. So my daughter will not go to this school in 2010-2011 year.. she will go online (Agora Charter School) until she graduates from hs.. I dont want to see her depressed or some kids picks on her for no reasons... she's doing good on her report card.. that is all she had to do is try her best....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

I dont like this skool. It smells, the student are meen. The principle is fat and ignorent. I am happy my son got out off there. It is only getting worse. My daughter is going to edmunds. that principle isnt ignorent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I have been at WG Harding MS for several years. I have mixed feelings about this school due to the lack of parent involvement and accountability, student involvement, accountability and respect and teacher burnout. I believe that this school can overcome many of their problems if only (many not all) parents started the basic level of education (reading, writing, respect for self and respect for others) at home, students took more pride in themselves (and I dont mean making sure their hair is cut or done every week or that they are wearing the latest style, many of them have too much of that kind of pride) or had a better value of education and teachers had the resources from the district, support from co-workers and parents and the tools (be it the education of how to handle kids in today's community, supplies or in school support resources).


Posted September 18, 2007

I attended this school from September 2006 to March 2007. It was the biggest waste I have ever had. The teachers were awful! And all that the students worried about was anything and everything but education. The kids are out of control, due to the lack of discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

My son attends this school now and it to be one of the worse schools in the phila. Area. The teachers just don't care about the students. Can't wait to get him out of there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

My son attended Harding for one year, Sept. 2002-June 2003. We were promised an advanced curriculum with the Bridges Program. The curriculum turned out to be a review of what he had already learned the year before. The teachers lack motivational skills, positive discipline techniques, and common courtesy toward the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

It's only day 2 and my son has only smiled and had great things to say about the teachers and the students and Harding. They have so many activities that it's impossible to be bored.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
19%

2009

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
21%

2009

 
 
24%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
24%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
8%

2009

 
 
9%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

246 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
22%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
Female13%
Male27%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female19%
Male33%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female37%
Male41%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students34%
Female37%
Male31%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female33%
Male33%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learners10%

Reading

All Students39%
Female46%
Male33%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learners5%

Science

All Students10%
Female10%
Male10%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
English language learners0%

Writing

All Students23%
Female31%
Male16%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learners6%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 15%
Hispanic 29% 9%
White 12% 71%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Wakeling St
Philadelphia, PA 19124
Phone: (215) 537-2528

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA



Frankford Friends School
Philadelphia, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT