Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dobbins Avt High School

Public | 9-12 | 759 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2009

This is a great school my daughter has been there for 4 years she graduates this year ty for making it a good experience for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

they have lots of things to do to keep kids off the streets
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Best technical Vocational school in the Philadelphia area, with lasting camaradarie


Posted September 29, 2009

I 'love' my school so much i mean it motivates me so much make me wanna graduate.Dobbins is a wonderful school where young aldults are continuosly getting pushed foward closer to there success :Sharneice' 2011
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

dobbins is a great school..... It's just the kids dont put much effort int their work. It seems as if they lost their motivation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

The teachers are great. But I would never send my son to this school ever. The school is Bad. No one can control those kids. I went to this school in 2003. I would not recommend this school to no one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

I am a graduate of Dobbins AVT High school and I think the school does a great job of preparing its students for the future. I live in Texas where the curriculm is horrible. Many students graduate and have to take remedial courses. Dobbins prepares its students for college and the workforce. I am now an employee at ConocoPhillips in Houston, TX. Thank you Dobbins/Randolph AVT High School!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

my child goes to the Dobbins campus and the school was just a disater last year it was fire after fire but really sometimes the school is good one thing they need to really work on is extracurricular activites if your not playing basketball,football,baseball,or being a cheerleader it's nothing for you to do and I think that is just sad
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
2%

2009

 
 
4%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female16%
Male34%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female31%
Male32%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students3%
Female0%
Male8%
Black3%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female66%
Male80%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 15%
Hispanic 5% 9%
White 1% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2150 West Lehigh Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19132
Phone: (215) 227-4421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Carver High School
Philadelphia, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT