Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Girls High School

Public | PK, 9-12 | 1124 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2009

There really is an intangible spirit. Great faculty and staff and great girls. It's a place where a girl can happily and comfortably blossom into a young woman, while getting a great education. I was super prepared for college and for life. Thanks GHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Girls High, is an institution that provides young women with the opportunity to gain a great H.S. education without having to worry about the pressures of boys. It cultivates young women to be leaders and to have a voice. Women are encouraged to excel in all aspects of their lives, from education to extra- curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I loved my whole school experience at Girls' High. Graduating from there gave me a sense of pride like no other. Girls' High gave me an opportunity to meet a diverse group of people from all over the city. I also left with great memories from all of the events. I wouldn't change it for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Girls High School is an amazing palce to learn and grow. The teachers become your best friends, and you are surrounded by women so very quickly become your sisters. Once you are apart of the GHS family, you never leave and you always have that support system to catch you when you fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I graduated from Girls High 5 years and it was such a great school. If you are looking for an excellent well-rounded education, Girls' High is THE school!


Posted July 19, 2009

i'm an rising senior and i think for educational purposes i would recommend this school to any one, i have never felt so prepared to go to the next level in life.yet, if you think yu cant handle the pressure of constant homework, projects, major papers all year round, which sadly includes the summer, i do not recommend this school. it's extremely challanging with all classes being advanced and up but it's all worth it in the end. i have 23.25 credits and 23.5 is whats needed to graduate and i really only need to take one class to graduate. at girls high they still require you to obtain more knowlegde than needed to further advance you in life. so, that means no matter how many credits obtain, you still have to take the required 7 classes.and about the consuelors,they are great. they care,it's the student who needs to care more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

Girls High is a wonderful college prepratory school. I am now entering my second year at Girls and the environment is welcoming and helpful. There are many after school acticities available to all students and most of the staff is helpful and inviting. Although the new principle has changed alot about the school, it is still fun and challenging. I would recommend it to a young female who is serious about her future and ready to do alot of work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2008

girls high is excellent school and I recommend it to anyone...as a current student for the last 2 almost 3 years I know the environment and the overview of the teachers and principal and vice- principals. Girls high academically is a great college prepatorial school. The enivonment of the school as of the kids are very friendly and sometimes its hard being all females their are many emotions, but I would not say it is starting to become just like a regular public school. And yes some of the girls in the school are struggling some more than others but there is indeed great help in our school. And I feel that a new student cant judge a school from the first couple weeks of attending it...being as though we are in the process of a great transformation with our new principal. You just have to give it some time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

We were very proud when our daughter was accepted here, but she has been struggling and the counselors don't seem to want to be bothered. So sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

This is a great school for young women who are trying to figure themselves out. The overall view of the school is changing it is slowly becoming a regular public school without boys.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2007

When it comes to education Girls High is #1. For the past four years i have gained knowledge on topics that my peers at other schools don't know. Yes this is a good school if you put your all into what you are learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

School for girls is an awesome school for girls to learnand more girls sports too it's a great school for girls.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2007

As a Girls High Girl, well now graduate, I can honestly say that attending such a great school like GHS has further me in so many more ways then I could have ever imagined! I am currently a student at WCU and too am on the Deans List there. Many of my college classmates that came from Philadelphia, have struggled to get through their first year, but for me, I felt I was fully prepared for college! Girls High is a great place for any girl to go and receive an education, but it's all about an individuals self-determination.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2007

Girls High is an excellent school, my daughter graduated from there in 2004 and has been on the deans list at Howard University for the last 2 years. She left Girls High prepared for college, and I thank the staff that was there during her 3 years at this wonderful institution of learning. May all the Girls that graduate from Girls High continue their success in life that Girls have prepared you for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

Girls High is a wonderful school full of tremendous opportunities for girls. They have an outstanding academic, sports, and over all self growth history and any child that goes there is assure to have a wonderful and broadened future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

Okay but not great. The quality of education at Girls is better than at most Philadelphia public high schools but lags far behind Masterman and Central. My daughter is a graduate and went on to complete an Ivy League undergraduate degree. She often complained about not being adequately prepared for a highly competitive college. Per her, the education here will take you through Temple, but you'd struggle at Penn. The school is underfunded. Many of the textbooks at the time of my daughter's attendance were over 20 years old. Teacher quality widely varied. The school's strengthes are diversity and its traditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

Philadelphia High School for Girls provides young ladies an environment will they will grow academically and socially. There is a community within those walls that buzzez with high self-esteem and happiness. The number of etra-curricular activities surpasses many other schools in that district and that too helps to build the esteem within the learning environment. Graduates of Girls' High return to the school year after year to show current students that the 'Intangible Spirit' lives on. An all around Great School, Philadelphia High School for Girls' will build your daughter into the woman you want her to be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 24, 2006

Girls High is the premier high school in the city of Philadelphia, second only to Central. They continue to seek academically talented young women and maintain their standard of academic excellence, by offering a challenging college preparatory curriculum. In addition to academics, they offer the ability to play and excel in competitive sports, such as tennis, softball, basketball & field hockey to name a few. My daughter is a current freshman, 254, and I am looking forward to becoming actively involved in the PTDA, as they welcome and encourage parent support. It's good to know the faculty is willing to work with the parents, to ensure the student's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I think Girls High is a very good school. It challebges the girls to think of things they never thought of. I am a senior there and Girls High has really helped me think of ways to accomplish something without quiting. The teacher there really get along with the students and they are very helpful when questions are asked. Girls High has a tremendous amount of sports and activities. We have it all and the teachers that sponser these clubs are very very nice and cooperative. I think that girls high is the school to go to. Also parents have a big part in our learning and participation. They hold charities that we become part of and they help the teachers when help is needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2005

I like it very much. The school is very interesting and you can learn alot from it. My daughter was a former student there and she excelled greatly. She was on the honor roll many times, she had excellent teachers working with her, and the school had an over all great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

245 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

250 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Malen/a
Black65%
Asian89%
Hispanic50%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Malen/a
Black77%
Asian79%
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students20%
Female20%
Malen/a
Black20%
Asian27%
Hispanic20%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Malen/a
Black98%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 15%
Asian 17% 3%
White 9% 71%
Hispanic 8% 8%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 West Olney Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19141
Phone: (215) 276-5258

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Widener Memorial School
Philadelphia, PA


Howe Julia Ward School
Philadelphia, PA


Central High School
Philadelphia, PA



Pennell Joseph School
Philadelphia, PA


Our Lady of Hope School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT