Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Girls High School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
The algebra teachers don't teach the class very good since we have to learn with the whole class and they always pick the people that finish first not the kids that are mentally challenged and take a longer time. They also don't give us enough time to do the problems since she's always talking and expect us to listen to her.

Girls High School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
Girls high is a great school. The courses were great especially Macroeconomics and they prepare you for college. Going to Girls High made the transition to college very smooth.


Girls High School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a community member
I am a graduate of 241& very proud ! This school has taught me so much. The teachers supportive in everyway possible. My education I received was top notch. I am so happy that I made the decision to attend ghs during the application process in eighth grade. Not to mention I made so many new friends. That have became some of my closest friends today. Girls high was nothing but the best high school experience. I do remember the three buses that I had to take me to and from school daily but well worth the travel.

Girls High School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a community member
Girls' High is a wonderful place. So far I'm a sophomore and I love it! The school is very diverse; in all my classes I have people of cultures that are different from mine. From that I've learned so much! There are so many different clubs to choose from too! Sometimes I stress a little just trying to choose. And the are on point. All my teachers push the students to step out of their comfort zone and challenge us to try something new and to be our best. It's a bit wired but my friends and I compete with one another for better grades. Great choice for a school.

Girls High School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a teacher
This school continues to seek out the best Philadelphia has to offer from the female student!!! All students are expected to reach higher and exceed expectation. here is little, if any, room to slack off. The staff is supportive of each student's needs, yet is not willng to seek a compromise on things expected.


Girls High School 5

Posted March 17, 2013
- a parent
Girls High is still a great institution for young women who plan to go to college post high school. Yes it has had some episodes of violence,but the administration handled it very diplomatically and followed proper procedures. The school is 65% African American 15% Latina,15% Asian and 5% and for an inner city public magnet school, I would say based on the population of the city this is quite diverse. Why do people feel that having a high percentage of African American young people striving for success is such a bad thing? Karen S. Dawson-Haines Concerned and Proactive Parent

Girls High School 2

Posted March 07, 2013
- a community member
Girls High has going down dramatically, they now accept any and everyone. The violence is out of control. most of the kids are black, so it is not diverse. and a lot of the teachers stoop down to the kids level, and are unorganized.

Girls High School 1

Posted October 08, 2012
- a student
If anyone wants to come to this school please don't it is not as good as it sounds the teachers teach way too fast and then they give you tests the very next day and if you fail that test your grades go down in Spanish class I got an F and I already know Spanish they do nothing but mess your good records up and also the school is not as diverse because they are all mostly African american. Anyway please don't come here I wish I've never came here.


Girls High School 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
Girls High has given me such pride and joy:) I love the sisterhood and also the challange that Girls High has given me:) I have had the opportunity to be taught by wonderful and highly experienced teachers, including the awesome art teacher:) It has been a pleasure being his student:) From him I learned discipline, hard work, determination, and accepting strict crisicism:) I would like to say thanks to all of my girls high sisters and teachers for making the four years of high school a blast for me:) I will always be a girls high girl and will definently visit for many of the fun events that Girls High provide, such as Songs of the Season, Country Fair, Career Day, Contest, and Move Up Day:)

Girls High School 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
Choosing Girls' High was the first major life decision I ever made. I have yet to make a better one. There are so many different programs, for whatever your interest may be. Your success is only limited by your desire; when you graduate, you will be well-prepared to further your education. I would recommend this school to any young lady who aspires to lead.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Girls High School
1400 West Olney Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19141
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (215) 276-5258
Last modified Girls High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top