Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln High School

Public | PK, 9-12 | 39 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

Newly built school with improved safety procedures makes for a more studious atmosphere in a well manicured Green neighborhood friendly caring staff and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

My daughter is a senior this year and has been in the health technologies major since 10th grade, as she plans on becoming a RN. That program has been very helpful to my daughter, she comes home and tells me everything she is learning, the bones in the body, how to take vital signs, they even have had trips to different hospitals in the Philadelphia area who are partnered in the health technologies program. My daughter has never complained about anything negative, and they even helped her with college recommendation letters. The principle also updates parents via recorded message on telephone about anything going on at the school. My daughter will graduate this year an honor student with a scholarship for college, Thank you Lincoln!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

Horrible school , students walking the halls cursing in general and at staff including the school police, there's no respect at all my kids just started because we moved in the area, but I will be taking them out and they have only been there one day. While sitting in the office waiting for them to start a student asked one of the staff if they wanted to see his privite part WOW and they just let him keep walking away smh
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Horrible school, has no discipline whatsoever. Students act like hoodlums both in school and in the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I attended Lincoln High School just over ten years ago and after reading the reviews I suspect things have not changed much. Philadelphia public schools are certainly not the best in the country but I think this has everything to do with parents, not the teachers or the schools. A somewhat constant theme among these reviews is that school is what you make of it, I think this is absolutely the case in the Philadelphia school system. Education starts at home, well before high school, relying on teachers to discipline, educated and foster your child's growth is an exercise in futility. I have been to public schools in Virginia, Texas, Montana, and North Carolina and they all seem to be better than the schools in Philly. The teaches are all the same and come from the same universities as the teachers in Philadelphia, so why the difference? The difference is that parents who do not rely on the schools to raise their children get more out of the system than those who think otherwise. Just read the reviews by the parents on here, half of them can't even spell!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My stepson attends Lincoln and it is one of the worst in the city. Some kids (such as my stepson) cut classes on a regular basis, skip entire days, act up in class, don't do their assignments, and the school does NOTHING unless the parent raises h$&* up there, and THEN they may actually dole out a mediocre consequence. Their main excuse is that the school is "just too big." It's more like the people in charge simply do not care. It's a shame because it was remodeled and looks nice, but the "powers that be" should be replaced with people who truly care and have excellent organizational skills. Kids love it though, b/c they can do whatever they want and not get penalized for their actions. Parents (the ones who care, anyway), do not love it so much. DO NOT send your child here, if you can help it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

I am a ninth grader at Abraham Lincoln High School and I think it's pretty great. I established my first club here, too! The only problem is that I have honors classes but they're the same thing as middle school classes. If they bring in better teachers, this school will be the best in the community!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2010

Lincoln High School, needs more administrative leadership. It's seems many times, when I am at the school, for or with my child, that one of the vice principals are more in control than the principal. My son's counselor miss bryd is good. Some of his teachers don't even issue homework. Some guy that also helps kids out. He is always running around but i don' t know his job, thumbs up Mr. Kade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

This school is awful. The teachers do nothing but either sit in the class doing there own thing or spend the whole time trying to get the class settled down. There is no control over the students. No respect on either side. I learned nothing in my 4 years at this school. It also seems to be getting more violent over the years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2009

i love the new school its great
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

I gave five stars to the new principal,now I can be proud to go to lincoln,feel safer,I can work much better,last year was very scary,guys sexualy trying to assault me they ran the hallway it was scary,I wish this happen sooner a new prinipal maybe alot of my friends would still be at lincoln instead of leaving scare
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

it's been about a month,theres been a big differnts this year compared to last year,I haven't heard anything very bad yet I hope I dont.all it took was to have new principal, now work on some of the teachers,and the school will be good again
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

with a new principal this year i hope to put more stars,last year for my daughter it was rough one, it seen to many kids were getting away with alot wrongs things, causing children to be afraid not learning good.scare to come to school.my daughter said the new principal already the first two days is cracking down, i said please keep it up for the sake of the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

i have a daughter that is in lincoln high school. my daughter is doing great. shes involved in the music program and sports. i believe school is what you make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

I rate this school a 1 star because of it lack of support that is given to students and families in need of csap interventions. This schools first response struggling teens is to suspend, arrest or send them to alternative schools. They seldom use positive strategies to help redirect students exhibiting negative behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I love the school my child come home every day showing me that she leared somthing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Lincoln has its bad points but like many other school in Philadelphia, it could be better. Although, Philadelphia is now building a new building for Lincoln and is supposedly only letting local kids go there. Sounds like a good plan and this should make the school nicer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

I have read all the reviews that parents and students have been posting and most of the reviews only highlight the bad and negative stuff. I'm currently a junior at Lincoln and it is not so bad as people make it out to be. Most parents say that their children aren't learning anything, but did you know that Lincoln does offer Honors and AP courses in many different subjects? Maybe its your child that doesn't want to learn or else they would be part of these classes. One thing I do agree with is that Lincoln's hallways are dirty and flooded with trash, not because the janitors don't do their jobs, but because kids are careless and do not care about their school. Maybe the parents are to be questioned about what goes on at home. Overall, to me Lincoln is great school and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

I went Lincoln and graduated in 2004. Many people but a bad name on this school but that doesn't help. I actually enjoyed my time there. Some teachers were very helpful and there are a lot of good programs there. Big hand clap to the Music Program and Deaf Program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2007

Lincoln high school is a joke!There are students constantly hall walking and the teachers just kick students out of class.The deans don't take action, they just suspend the children, I think if your child cuts class you should be notified.Why suspend the teens that's what they prefer:to be out of school!I think Lincoln needs to have more discipline and it's not just Lincoln it it all Philadelphia Public high schools thank you for reading this and please take in to consideration that yes there are some good students but as in teamwork we are only as good as the worst students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
15%

2009

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

378 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

240 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
5%

2009

 
 
4%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

251 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female17%
Male19%
Black13%
Asian53%
Hispanic17%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students25%
Female31%
Male20%
Black26%
Asian32%
Hispanic24%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students4%
Female5%
Male3%
Black2%
Asian6%
Hispanic0%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White10%
Economically disadvantaged2%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female56%
Male40%
Black47%
Asian73%
Hispanic52%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 38% 15%
White 34% 71%
Hispanic 20% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 Ryan Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19136
Phone: (215) 335-5653

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Matthew School
Philadelphia, PA


Mayfair School
Philadelphia, PA


Forrest Edwin School
Philadelphia, PA



St. Bernard School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT