Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 2,360
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 24, 2015
- a student
a few teachers get overzealous with the work load, beware, and prioritize. If need be you can discuss specific grievances. Just be specific; and know the squeaky wheel gets the oil so be ready to hunt down whoever (could be multiple people) you need to speak to to address your problem, work load or otherwise.

Central High School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a student
No matter how bad I was doing I knew what my GPA was and had an idea of what's needed to raise it, doing what was needed was entirely up to me there's no hand holding and I loved it. You get what you put in, no more and no less. That's the most valuable lesson I've learned so far.


Central High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 24, 2015
- a student
I adore Central High, I spent my first two years of highschool there then I had to move out of state to a supposedly better school system. However I'd gladly return. The large class sizes either force you to reach out to teachers or use your resources to better understand the material (both great skills to have). The academic competitiveness drove me to take on challenges I wouldn't choose otherwise. The freedom lets you come into your own faster, and the many electives and clubs let you test run possible career paths. This is the best highschool, despite whats going on all around the city Central stands as an exemplary school.

Central High School 5

Posted March 05, 2015
- a student
I absolutely love Central, I am a senior this year and leaving central is honestly the hardest thing I could do. Going to central was a game changer, I thought it was going to be just like middle school however I was wrong and got my first C there. That's when times changed and I knew I had to ask for help. The teachers there are PHENOMINAL & the facility works with you. The teachers and facility go above and beyond for the safety and wellbeing of their students. I've gotten accepted into several colleges, that I really wanted to go to and I wouldn't have been able to do it without my teachers, counselors and other support systems. For those of you considering sending your kids here, do it! Not only will it prepare them for college, but life also. LONG LIVE CHS, GO LANCERS, 274!!
7 people found this helpful

Central High School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher at Central, I'll say we have some of the most energetic, intelligent, caring young individuals I've ever encountered. The many supportive family, faculty, and staff members work together to keep Central strong, even when the politics of our big urban district are tough. I love this school!
4 people found this helpful


Central High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of class 276, this school prepares you for college (and life in general). It reminds me of a college campus with a wonderful diverse culture. Class of 276, wish you the best and know you are in a good place.
4 people found this helpful

Central High School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a student
Beautiful...just - beautiful. It's a magnificent place that brings together the greatest minds and spirits of the young adult generation in a troubled city. A melting pot of people -very diverse- especially in a city like Philly where every STREET is liable to have a different culture, neighborhoods within neighborhoods. Much more to offer than a[ny] curriculum, the lifestyle and nature of the school is everything that is good with the world. It really prepares children for what is to come in life: the good, the bad, the beautiful. Not to mention that the curriculum and extracurricular activities actually are of the best kind - having won many championships, in all fields, and providing a variety of sports and clubs equal or better than that of most colleges. This is the best school and experience any person could as for. Sincerely, your proud alumni.. P.S. 270 !!!!
4 people found this helpful

Central High School 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a student
I am a member of 273 and the diversity of the school never ceases to amaze me. Sure, as with any school you'll find your cliques, but Central has a way of inspiring unity through the unity of loads of homework and crazy teachers (both of the draconian variety and the wacky, family ones). The school budget cuts are now the Boogeyman but if you somehow find a way to last through it, it'll be worth it (maybe). Be prepared to make lifelong friends that you never thought you'd be friends with, a more open mind, and senioritis during freshman year.
3 people found this helpful


Central High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
I am a member of the 258th graduating class, and I am proud to see that the school still has the highest rating on Great Schools. Central is and was a wonderful place to learn, grow and enjoy the changes that come with intellectual curiosity and social cohesion. I was well prepared for the demanding college I attended and for my career. Socially, I met so many people from different socioeconomic backgrounds, and to this day I have yet to find a community of more diverse, open-minded and accepting peers. Central will always have a special place in my heart and I will always support Central financially and otherwise.

Central High School 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a student
I am a member of the 274th class of central! i absolutely love it. I've met so many amazing people in my two years so far and I cant wait to meet even more in the years to come. Even though some of the teachers can be not so motivational, others put their heart and soul into teaching us and coming up with lesson plans that will make classroom time more exciting. I love how the central family is close knit and diverse and we all can get along with each other without many disagreements. Good luck to anyone applying and definitely keep central as an option!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central High School
1700 West Olney Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19141
(215) 276-5262
Last modified Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 112 reviews. Top