Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Philadelphia, PA

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northeast High School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a community member
Its horrible. The worst experience of my life so glad I graduated. Everyday I was scared but that's my opinion. For the most part I did enjoy days, okay. The teachers helped me excel higher ad well. I still don't suggest wasting time though.

Northeast High School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend sending your child to this school. Horrible teaching staff/police officers and the principal is rarely in the school to talk to .


Northeast High School 4

Posted November 22, 2013
- a student
Northeast has many opportunities to excel as a student, it all depends n how serious you are about your education. There are options of IB, Magnet, ans AP course to keep your mind stimulated. The halls are kind of over crowded, however that keeps the school alive. Even though we have rosters, no two days are the same. We have high levels of school pride in all of our sports which also adds to the atmosphere.

Northeast High School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
NEHS is a great school well advanced my son done well there however the school have haven't changed it's the students very disrespectful unfortunately the great teachers they have now have to become parents as well the school board need to stop putting money in the penal system and put that money towards our children future Mayor Gutter/Nutter is the worst Mayor in history and yet again he's paying Jay-Z and Beyonc to perform here in Philly they can give two craps about Philly

Northeast High School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
my son loves the school The Magnet system and the IB system have some of the most amazing teachers you can have. he had made some really good friends.


Northeast High School 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a student
I currently go to Northeast and am enrolled in the IB Program. It's a great school if you are in the IB or Magnet programs and even if you aren't! However, GreatSchools rating is based on test scores and why Northeast's test scores suck is this. A good amount of the kids in IB and Magnet do very well along with those in advanced classes, but all these public schools in philadelphia are getting shut down and turned into charter schools...and all the kids that don't pay attention in class at the public schools that get shut down that the charter schools don't want get dumped here because we have the biggest building in the district..so their bad scores make our school look terrible, but it isn't. I haven't seen a fight this year...my teachers are WONDERFUL..even the ones i had before IB when i was in advanced classes. Overall, Northeast is a great school but make sure your children are either in Advanced classes, IB, or Magnet if you don't want them to be surrounded by kids who don't care about learning.

Northeast High School 4

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
the problem with north east is not a problem of north east , but a problem of the public school system in philly . i have taken an informal poll of 20 students from girls high , to hallahan , to mastbaum , to northeast . here is the test . do you know what the 4th of july is ? all but two answered yes , independence day . the other two answered " NATIONAL DAY OF FIREWORKS " !!!!!!!!!! i asked independent from who or what ? of the 20 only 1 knew the answer . others answered , i dont know , the pilgrams ,. that is pathetic considering it is the most important day in our country's history and has been taught to them since elementary school . north east is overall ok . they put way too much emphasis on things that are trivial , ie. different notebooks (no spiral , spiral , composition etc ) for different classes , for whom and how strict the uniform policy is exercized , and not enough emphasis on actually getting the students to learn . last school year i had to buy 2 scientific calculators cost $125 each for them to be used 1 time . and yes if they didnt have the calculator that went against their grade . north east is a good neighborhood school in a poor school system .

Northeast High School 1

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
Not a good school like it used to be.. A bad thing about public education in philly is how it doesn't let girls walk halls without being gropped, guys not be jumped... not a good school. My daughter was touched all throughout high school here at Northeast


Northeast High School 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a teacher
NEHS is a terrific neighborhood high school. The Magnet Program and IB Program offer great academic opportunities for high achievers. The ESOL Program is the best in the city. As a large, comprehensive high school, it offers everything from sports to music and drama to academic clubs and programs. The school is safe, well-run, and has a positive school culture where learning is respected and involvement is expected. Don't pass over Northeast. It's still a wonderful school that is helping so many students live their dreams and reach their goals.

Northeast High School 5

Posted July 30, 2010
- a parent
I disagree with students or parents who do not like the uniform policy. If students did not dress with their pants falling off their butts and girls with their chests hanging out all over the place then there wouldn't be such a need for uniforms. Of course when you see some of the parents they look the same way unfortunately! You know they are not dressed like that working in an office. That's what the principal at NE is doing. Preparing students to dress appropriately for the real working world not South Street on a Saturday night!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northeast High School
1601 Cottman Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19111
(215) 728-5018
Last modified Northeast High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northeast High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top