Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Philadelphia High School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a community member
Comments and rankings are based on the OLD West Philly. If anyone has stats, comments, reviews on the NEW school please post them here. I need to find a well rounded school and this site has very old and outdated information.

West Philadelphia High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
As a big city public school it really needs the money. Has great program for building the cars of the future.


West Philadelphia High School 1

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
Wow I don't know where to start. I am a class of 94, and even then the school was horrible. It was like Eastside High on Lean On Me before Mr Clark came and turned it around. The teachers then were a little bit more caring about the students than they are now. I have a freshman daughter and I did everything in my power to get her out of philadelphia and into the suburbs of maryland just so she can have a better high school experience. And now I have to pat myself on the back for pushing my daughter to honors classes. Unlike West Philadelphia High. The teachers nor the parents wanted to be but so involved in the school system. I wish the kids best of luck at this school and a great new year. Congrats to the students of 2011.

West Philadelphia High School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a student
my school have came very far and i'm glad that we are doing good. thanks to our hard working teachers. Most of all we should be thanking Mrs. Cruz for stay with us no matter what happen. She always look for the better in us. Thanks Mrs. Cruz keep up the good work

West Philadelphia High School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
I think that West Philadelphia High School is my favorite school now because of the princpal name Ms. Cruz people should give her alot of respect.


West Philadelphia High School 1

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
West Philadelphia has gone down the tubes!!! I feel sorry for the kids who want to learn and get stuck with no better choices. To many fights not enough parent support. The school needs to shut down!!

West Philadelphia High School 5

Posted June 14, 2008
- a student
west philadelphia high school has came around the school is no how it use to be im proud to be at west philadelphia high school. i know last year was not the best but they came around big time

West Philadelphia High School 4

Posted June 11, 2008
- a community member
I am a former student of West Philadelphia High School and I believe that west is a really good school. I loved being there yea west had its problems in the past but that's the thing that was in the past. The past should not outshine the future or present. My favorite program was Air force JROTC PA-092. West is one of the Oldest School in philadelphia. I overcame 3 years of bad reps of a high school. This review came from Angelique Brown C/o 2007


West Philadelphia High School 4

Posted May 24, 2008
- a student
I Attend West Philadelphia High And I Will Be Graduating In June 2008. I Have Learned So Much From This School. The New Leadership In The School Makes Such A Difference The Saftey In The School Is So Good. I Am Proud To Say That I Am An Alumni of The Oldest School In Philadelphia School District.

West Philadelphia High School 4

Posted August 01, 2006
- a student
I am a fromer student of west philadelphia high school and I do not agree with the other ratings. I know that school and education is only what you make of it. If one works hard they can go far, I myself made the best of this high school stage. You can't let others stop you from getting the job done. All your child has to do is focus on whats most important if they are strong enough to do the right thing they will be just fine. I wish people would 'let up' on west because that old 'rep' is history. My mother believed that her child could fight through bad reputations of a school and come out on top, and guess what... Ive made her proud!

Nearby schools

West Philadelphia High School
4901 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA  19139
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (215) 471-2902
Last modified West Philadelphia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top