Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Decatur Stephen School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
It appears so. My son stared at school and he likes going to school and appreciated the teacher and the students.

Decatur Stephen School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
Helpful in administration and the school atmosphere is pleasant, and cordial. Education and respect, team work and an open channel to diversity and focus in autism.


Decatur Stephen School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
We are grateful to Mrs. Waselesky, 3rd teacher for the patience, understanding and assistance provided to the student and the parents, a team effort to the benefit of the child.

Decatur Stephen School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
Great teachers, great kids, great education, great neighborhood, and Especially the teachers are always about the kids!!! Mrs Coyle and Mr Binder are Super together and never be torn apart as a team working together to better these children!! The work and strive to make changes in our kids and it shows!! Don't fix something that isn't broke!!! From my son's first year until now he has been an amazing child and students and I give all the credit to his teachers throughout the years!! They contact u immediately when they see a struggle to turn it around right away... If changes needed to be made then make them to the correct people but I can assure u it won't be the teachers who needs to change!!

Decatur Stephen School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
The school, the staff and teachers are fabulous. The only issue is with the principal ( Mrs. Endy-Okane). She plays favorites with certain teachers and does not allow teachers to be themselves in the school. I have never seen a school have so many teachers shifted and moved around. I looked forward to my child having a certain teacher when graduating to the next grade, but this teacher was moved to a totally different grade level. This was done with many teachers over the last two years. I am very displeased with the way she keeps disrupting a system that was working very well. I am sure that many parents look forward to the opportunity of thier children getting certain teachers as the child progresses through the school. This principal, so far, has not shown any concern to the parents, students or teachers needs. It appears all she cares about is making sure that the numbers are good. I can't wait to see PSSA scores since she has taken over the school. The previous principal (Mr. Connors) kept everyone informed about the scores, so far not a peep from this one. Hopefully this school year will show that a new principal is in order.


Decatur Stephen School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My grandson switched in second grade from the parochial school to Stephen Decatur Public School, and that was six years ago. After his first day there, he came out of the building at dismissal with the biggest smile on his face, so I knew he would be happy there. I have volunteered at this school, on and off, for 2 or 3 years, and from the teachers, to the office staff, the maintenance crew, the Home and School, Stephen Decatur is just the total package. If there are any concerns or issues, you can be sure that the Principal or the teachers will address those problems, and every teacher that my grandson has had was dedicated to providing the best education of their students, even giving of their own time to help a student. I am so proud and so glad that my grandson is attending Stephen Decatur, I would recommend it to any family looking for schools in this area, and I hope that they continue to do the excellent job that they have been doing.

Decatur Stephen School 2

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
When issues or concerns are brought up to the school main office there appears to be "no efforts" to have them resolved. The appoach taken is attempting to cover up the matter or completely ignore the concern of the parent. I have even heard and my child has experienced issues of discrimination and bullying by teachers/students. The school board needs to have an investigation on how issues of discimination, and bullying are TRUELY being handled. Parents should be advised to take suspected concerns you may have or your child reports to you to the next level "the school board" when experienced. This school needs some serious training on diversity and respecting all cultures. Sincerely, Disappointed Parent

Decatur Stephen School 4

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
I believe its a great school. My sin has learned alot in his first year here. Staff, Teachers are very helpful and are caring, which means alot. Keep up the good work.


Decatur Stephen School 1

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
I went there from 3rd-8th grade; in the 2nd 8th grade class to graduate.Academics weren't as good as they could have been.The kids were out of control.Pencils & erasers were thrown in classrooms; food&OPEN milk cartons were thrown in the lunchroom.The students didn't care about learning; the teachers didn't care about motivating them.There were 2-3 fights a year.The bullies did what they wanted.If victims got tired of teachers not stopping bullies&tried to get bullies to stop themselves, the victims got in trouble, not bullies.One teacher even helped the bullies avoid punishment.Detention&suspension motivated the bad kids to cause more trouble.This is a bad school.If you're a parent&want to stay in the school district I suggest Joe Greenburg K-8.The academics are far better; they were number 1 in the city.They teach motivation.They have more control over the bad kids.If public schools aren't for you, do homeschooling.Join Scout troops/karate if you're worried about your kids not being socialized.If you can afford it, a private school with small classes.Small classes don't form cliques or bully each other.I hated going to school as a kid; don't put your child through the same thing.

Decatur Stephen School 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
my children love this school very much. It`s a great school.The teachers are very nice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Decatur Stephen School
3500 Academy Rd, Philadelphia, PA  19154
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (215) 281-2606
Last modified Decatur Stephen School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top