Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loesche William H School

Public | PK-5 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

3 years ago this school was different and better then now. maybe they need to find a different priceble
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

WE MOVED FEW TIMES. I HAVE TWO KIDS THAT WERE "A" STUDENTS, BUT AS SOON AS THEY GOT INTO THE LOESCHE SCHOOL SOMETHING WENT WRONT. THEY ARE FAILING MOST OF THE TESTS AND MY OLER ONE WAKES UP WITH TEARS ON HIS EYES BEGGING ME TO NOT LET HIM GO TI THAT SCHOOL WHEN I TRIED TO REACH PRINCIPLE IT TURNED OUT TO BE VERY HARD BECAUSE I WAS TRYING TO TALK TO HER FOR MORE THAT 3 WEEKS NOW. FINALLY WHEN I HAD A CHANCE TO TALK TO HER AFTER TAKE OF FROM WORK AND COMING TO THE SCHOOL I SAW THAT SHE DOES NOT CARE ABOUT HER STUDENTS AT ALL. I TOLD HER THAT I AM HER TO HELP MY CHILD AND I WANT TO FIND OUT WHAT IT IS GOING ON IN SCHOOL AND WHY MY SON DOES EVERYTHING POSSIBLE AND IMPOSSIBLE TO NOT TO GO TO THAT SCHOOL..WELL SHE TOTALLY IGNORED ME, MY SON AND THAT SITUATION. I DONT THINK THAT A PRINCIPLE HAS BE LIKE THAT. SHE HAS TO BE MORE INTO EACH STUDENT AS A LITTLE PERSON THAT TAKES A FIRST STEP INFO THE GROWN LIFE AND FIRST EDUCATIONAL LEVEL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Good school, great location, need to improve more in the academic activities. Need to increase the resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

This is a great school. Staff is vvery nice and school is always trying to make school are fun place to be for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

This school is great, so are the teacher and staff.There special needs classes are the best.When my daughter started there we found out she had a learning disablities.She got the help she need...With a month my daughter could write her name and she knew how to write and abcs and at the end how the school year she could read and do math.I owe thanks to the teacher and staff there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Wonderfull school.Very good teachers.My kids are so happy too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I give this school a five star ratingmy child attends this school and it is great there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My daughter is very happy at this school. However, I would like to see clubs offered for kindergarten as well as more after-school care for young children. Consequently, Principal Hill is doing a great job as the new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Loesche Elementary is a very good school, in fact one of the best in philadelphia. The school is in a diverse area in the greater NE Philadelphia. The teachers are great. The principle cares very much about the school and it's students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I love this school! My autistic daughter went hear from 1st to 5th and they were so great about talking my other daughter 23 months younger who isn't autistic! She graduated last year and my son started kindergarden with Mrs.Firestone,the greatest teacher on the planet, this september. Loesche is not the school in my neighborhood but they loved my kids so much and I loved them that they let me bring me son there! I should be sending my son to Fitzpatrick but it was so big and scary looking while loesche is like home! I'm just so excited to be part of the loesche community again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

I have two children in this school. When I first saw the school from the outside, including the playground, I was disgusted. However, it didn't take me long to realize that inside this school was one of the best, most caring teachers and staff, in particular, the principal, dr. K. (Sorry, I can't spell his last name and almost everyone calls him dr. K!) test scores are well above average against many other ne phila schools and the security is tight but not to the point of making it obvious. Do yousrelf a favor and get to know the staff and principal. Go to parent/teacher meetings. Be involved. They are also very open to suggestions and react quickly with issues of concern. For a philly school, this one is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

This school is absolutely delightful! The teachers are hardworking, enthusiastic,creative, and challenging! The principal, Dr. Kowalkowski, is TOPS! The teachers work together. The school is very cohesive. It is like the Bloomingdales of schools! Maybe this is why we made AYP two years in a row!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learners77%

Reading

All Students64%
Female73%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian68%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learners18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black91%
Asian92%
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learners79%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male75%
Black73%
Asian83%
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learners43%

Science

All Students79%
Female83%
Male76%
Black53%
Asian68%
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learners56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female57%
Male74%
Black42%
Asian65%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female67%
Male62%
Black42%
Asian58%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students47%
Female59%
Male39%
Black42%
Asian52%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 3%
Black 10% 15%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

595 Tomlinson Rd
Philadelphia, PA 19116
Phone: (215) 961-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Comly Watson School
Philadelphia, PA



St Christopher School
Philadelphia, PA


Philadelphia Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT