Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Cook-Wissahickon is great. We've watched our kids learn and grow at the school over the past few years and are really pleased. The teachers are good and they demand a lot from the kids academically. They also coach teams, provide art and science clubs, and win grants. This year we got a new principal and he is phenomenal. We'd recommend the school to parents of young kids in a heartbeat.

Cook-Wissahickon School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Kimmel the art teacher who enables all the kids to express themselves and learn about art history and techniques, teaching them drawing, painting, and ceramics.


Cook-Wissahickon School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff focus on cultivating caring in their students, and the kids are involved in service projects in the community (food bank drives in the younger years and service learning projects in the older grades).

Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
Cook-Wiss is one of the strongest and most successful elementary schools in the Philadelphia system. Great faculty, meaningful parental involvement, and a safe and positive environment for the students.

Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
Cook-Wissahickon is a true gem! Just like it's sister schools in the area, Dobson and Shawmont, it serves all students in the neighborhood boundary regardless of ability. Excellent progress is always made from year to year for all students. Intervention programs are available for academic as well as social-emotional needs. The seasoned staff is truly dedicated to their students and families. Unlike charter schools, neighborhood public schools are anchors to their communities and inclusive of all students. Cook-Wissahickon embodies this tradition and continues to create a "family" environment year after year.


Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
I love cook. My child does well and Im proud. They offer a lot of extra classes other schools don't. And I feel like the teachers care.

Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted February 17, 2013
- a teacher
Cook Wissahickon is a wonderful school to teach at. The parents are very involved and want the best for their children. The staff & parents strive to bring the best programs possible to enrich the students academically and emotionally.

Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the greatest schools in the district! They meet AYP every year! They have teachers that actually care and have a very strong interest in the children's success here. They have been lead by a principal who has taken on many challenges since she has been here and has seemed to overcome them all! In the light of recent events (that have unfortunately happened), she is driven to find more ways to keep children and staff in our school more secure! My children are challenged academically here and have a strong support system to help them achieve those goals. I would not send them to any other school in the neighborhood. The home and school is very active here and helps maintain that positive enviroment for the kids. The parents are active in volunteering and fundraising. I feel very blessed as a parent to have my family be part of such a caring school!


Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a teacher
Cook Wissahickon is a true gem!!!! I love the school, teachers, and principal!!! This school places a high value on education, and the student expectations are high.

Cook-Wissahickon School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a teacher
As the proud principal of Cook-Wissahickon School since 2010, I have been able to work with an amazing group of parents, teachers, support staff, and students. The success of our school is 100 percent dependent on the communication and shared vision among all of our stakeholders. Our monthly School Advisory Council includes not only parents and teachers but community members who help us guide our decision making to improve the lives of our children and the neighborhoods in which they live.

Nearby schools

Cook-Wissahickon School
201 East Salaignac St, Philadelphia, PA  19128
(215) 487-4463
Last modified Cook-Wissahickon School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top