Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bethune Mary Mcleod School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a teacher

Bethune Mary Mcleod School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers, especially Ms. Heleniak, are wonderful.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent

Bethune Mary Mcleod School
no rating

Posted July 30, 2009
- a community member
I think your view is distorted. The principal is very caring and goes out of her way to foster a positive environment for staff and students. She always encourages teachers and students to strive to the best of their ability and to provide students with meaningful lessons.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School
no rating

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Great staff, lousy administration.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 3

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
As a parent, I feel that the teachers at Bethune are excellent. However, the principal is negative, doesn't care about children and doesn't create a good school community. She is frequently absent and hard to get in touch with. I am transferring my child only because of the principal. It's a shame because I really like the students and the teachers. Maybe soon Bethune will get a principal that really cares about what kids are learning and is carings towards children.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 4

Posted April 04, 2006
- a parent
Bethune is a great school. Full of caring teachers. My daughters had the priviledge to be with great teachers that go beyond their ways to help the children do their best. The office staff could be more attentive towards parents, but the teachers are awesome.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
I think Bethune overall is a pretty good school. Unfortunately the way the public schools in Phila. are structured now it doesn't seem to be working. I know the theory behind no kids left behind is supposed to be helpful but so many kids need specialized attention and they are not getting it because of the distractions of children who misbehave and are still left in the general population of children. When I was in school problem children were removed and put with teachers who could give them the attention they need. Just the same as well behaved and academically advanced children are seperated.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
I am very proud of Mary Mccloud Bethune's staff and their extracurricular activities. Presently I have 2 grandchildren the school, however children also attended Bethune School, and Im happy and proud to say many of their teachers are still there. I want to highly commend the Vice Principal Mr. Parrish and also Ms Burrough's for doing an excellent job in educating and giving my g/son good directions as he goes thru his adolescent stages. The principal and vice principal are never to busy for the students and parents in any situation. I found Mr. Parrish highly professional, understanding and and will go the extra mile with you and for your student. I highly recommend any parent to visit as well as send their child to Mary McCloud Bethune.

Nearby schools

Bethune Mary Mcleod School
3301 Old York Rd, Philadelphia, PA  19140
(215) 227-4433
Last modified Bethune Mary Mcleod School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top