Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Public
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 684

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a teacher
Great kids & amazing teachers!

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers, especially Ms. Heleniak, are wonderful.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers that really care!

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 0
no rating

Posted July 30, 2009
- a community member
I think your view is distorted. The principal is very caring and goes out of her way to foster a positive environment for staff and students. She always encourages teachers and students to strive to the best of their ability and to provide students with meaningful lessons.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Great staff, lousy administration.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 1

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 3

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
As a parent, I feel that the teachers at Bethune are excellent. However, the principal is negative, doesn't care about children and doesn't create a good school community. She is frequently absent and hard to get in touch with. I am transferring my child only because of the principal. It's a shame because I really like the students and the teachers. Maybe soon Bethune will get a principal that really cares about what kids are learning and is carings towards children.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 4

Posted April 04, 2006
- a parent
Bethune is a great school. Full of caring teachers. My daughters had the priviledge to be with great teachers that go beyond their ways to help the children do their best. The office staff could be more attentive towards parents, but the teachers are awesome.


Bethune Mary Mcleod School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
I think Bethune overall is a pretty good school. Unfortunately the way the public schools in Phila. are structured now it doesn't seem to be working. I know the theory behind no kids left behind is supposed to be helpful but so many kids need specialized attention and they are not getting it because of the distractions of children who misbehave and are still left in the general population of children. When I was in school problem children were removed and put with teachers who could give them the attention they need. Just the same as well behaved and academically advanced children are seperated.

Bethune Mary Mcleod School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
I am very proud of Mary Mccloud Bethune's staff and their extracurricular activities. Presently I have 2 grandchildren the school, however children also attended Bethune School, and Im happy and proud to say many of their teachers are still there. I want to highly commend the Vice Principal Mr. Parrish and also Ms Burrough's for doing an excellent job in educating and giving my g/son good directions as he goes thru his adolescent stages. The principal and vice principal are never to busy for the students and parents in any situation. I found Mr. Parrish highly professional, understanding and and will go the extra mile with you and for your student. I highly recommend any parent to visit as well as send their child to Mary McCloud Bethune.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bethune Mary Mcleod School
3301 Old York Rd, Philadelphia, PA  19140
(215) 227-4433
Last modified Bethune Mary Mcleod School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bethune Mary Mcleod School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top