Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lea Henry C School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
This is a young lady who worked at the after school program at the school. She was the only one who seemed to really care about the kids.

Lea Henry C School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
I can only speak for the teacher my child had and this teacher brings a lot of her own prejudices into the classroom.


Lea Henry C School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
I don’t know about the higher grades my child was there for kindergarten only and the homework for kindergarten was ok but I don’t believe in homework for little kids.

Lea Henry C School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
They do develop those characteristics in a negative way. As in never give up even if you are wrong.

Lea Henry C School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Not at all. Disrespect abounds. It is especially visible at recess. I have heard words that were foreign to me at that age.


Lea Henry C School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Any student that has those qualities will be considered weak at that school. Its survival of the fittest.

Lea Henry C School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
This school does non of that. If anything they teach the kids that dishonesty will get you further in life since kids who are actually honest get the worst treatment. How can a school teach something that they don’t practice.

Lea Henry C School 4

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This school has great teachers and staff, and a decent amount of support from Univ. Penn in the form of volunteers. The school has also had excellent community support. My son has had a great experience making friends. The parent community is slowly getting organized with a critical mass of interest now. The one issue I have has to do with the few kids who have behavioral problems, which can occasionally interfere with classroom instruction. This does not seem to happen very often however.


Lea Henry C School 4

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughters first year in public school. I was very concerned about the quality of education she would be receiving. To my surprise we have had a pretty good experience at Lea. My daughter's teacher is wonderful and really works hard at challenging the children. I really like that the school is diverse. The teachers and students would benefit from more parent and administrative supports. Parents must get involved!!! The school also lacks supplies !!!! Lea has done a good job with maintaining enrichment programs like music ,art, and gym however I do not see the S.T.E.M. program or technology. The after -school programs they offer are helpful to working parents. The school has some issues but appears to be going in the right direction. Get involved help Lea school to become greater!!!

Lea Henry C School 3

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Despite many talented and capable teachers at Lea, the school consistently struggles to meet AYP. Lea's own website attributes its low test scores to a large ESL population and its special ed program. The school is also supported by Penn and an active coalition of neighborhood groups, but in the three years our son attended (2011-2013) not a single parent enrolled in the school's own Home and School Association? There are many enrichment opportunities for the kids, but some programs are inconsistent. One week your child has library and music, the next week he doesn't. As other parents here have stated, class sizes do diminish drastically after the 5th grade with many families opting to continue their kids' education elsewhere; the lack of student focus (noted in comments below) is also no exaggeration. We removed our son from Lea after it became increasingly more difficult to motivate him to complete assignments. He frequently expressed his growing resentment at the fact that the greater majority of his classmates neither completed homework with any regularity nor turned in projects.

Nearby schools

Lea Henry C School
4700 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA  19139
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (215) 471-2915
Last modified Lea Henry C School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top