Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middle Years Alternative School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2012

I am one of the students who will graduate MYA this year. Now, MYA is pretty much a small school; everybody knows everybody once you get to know them. You'll make friends easily. The downfall to MYA is that there are A LOT of students who don't want to learn and keeps making noise everytime a teacher wants to teach. Most of the teachers are very good at teaching while some are pretty much unorganized and are not as strict as the principal. If the teachers are not that strict, the students won't care about the lesson that the teacher is trying to teach them. Though, half of students make a lot of noise and distractions(even during on tests!), there are the other half who are devoted to school and work very hard. I won't say I'll be glad to get out of MYA because there are so many good memories in here. I know a lot of my friends are happy to get out of this school though, and hopefully want to enjoy a better experience in high school.


Posted May 18, 2011

My friend goes to this school and she said she loves it! I'm thinking about going to this school next year! She said the students are nice & everybody get along! This school is amazing! The food is great everybody thinks this is a great school actually a couple of my friends go here! I might end up coming so I'll be lucky if I do!


Posted May 1, 2014

My mixed children were previously going to our neighborhood public schools before going to MYA. The difference between public school and MYA drastic. In the public schools my children were constantly harrassed due to their skin color and were in several fights per year! The schools really do nothing about it other than suspension and the parents of the perpertrating students couldnt care less! MYA on the other hand does NOT tolerate that behavior. There was one incident in the beginning of the school year and Mrs. Fitzpatrick handled it immediately! No problems since! MYA IS AWESOME! DESCENT EDUCATION(NOT THE BEST BUT DEFINITELY BETTER THAN PUBLIC), gOOD SCHOOL LUNCH, AND SAFETY, WHICHIS NUMBER ONE ON MY LIST! THANK YOU MYA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I am a current 8th grader at MYA, the school is ridicously bad this year. Yes, it is true MYA is academicly strong but the current principle, Mrs. Fitzpatrick makes it feel awful. It seems as if she is just in it for the money, not the students. The teachers are great. They try to remember everyones name. But, Fitzpatrick only really remember the names of the kids who regurly get sent to her office. I feel sorry for the current 7th, 6th, and 5th graders who have to spend a year or more with her. I also feel sorry for the future students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2009

I would like to counter some of the comments made by a teacher dated January 7, 2009. In terms of preparing students for testing, this is a district wide policy which MYA teachers follow and are successful in implementing. MYA has made Annual Yearly Progress for 7 years in a row. As for certification, teachers must have certification in order to provide adequate and effective teaching. The fact that a teacher is rushed in obtaining it is of no consequence of the school, again this is a district and state mandate. The mixing of the 'Sels' is inclusion. All schools in the city and beyond are doing this. Lastly, students receive strong instruction and consistent attention to subject matter in which they are struggling. Comments left on this page by students is a testament of MYA's program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2009

I am a student who just recently moved back into the area. I left the school in 2002, some of the best memories of my life are of MYA it was a great enviroment to learn in even though the building we had when i was there was not the best. My classmates were like family and the teachers connected with us as students and helped us better ourselves. I cant speak to the current state of the school but if any of my old teachers are still there i would definnately recomend this school as one of the pest public schools in philadelphia.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

I have some objections to the post by the teacher dated April 13,2008.Teachers where layed off.I know I was one of them.We did teach children to pass the test along with additional academics that was required.To begin with.The teachers that was not certified was given one year to obtain certification by taking the test. Which cost hundreds of dollars each time a teacher take the test.Although the instruction level can be strong sometimes.Due to the transition of mixing M.Y.A students with some Sels. students who are behind academically in some major subjects.Some teachers appear to be giving the sels. students more attention academically.The M.Y.A. students are left to take care of themseves academically during some classroom periods with very little assistance.If they get stuck on a hard problem and need some help.The teachers are so busy trying to help the sels. students catch up academically. (good note)Basketball for Mya male,+female studentsFinally!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2008

MYA is a excellent school and my child is graduating next year im very proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

I have objections to the post by a parent dated September 27, 2007. To begin with, teachers were not laid off. Teachers at times can transfer or retire as the case with the staff that has left. 'MYA seems to just teach children to pass test...' The instruction level at MYA is very strong and not only prepares students for testing but also prepares students to succeed in high school. Numerous eighth grade students move on to magnet and criterion based schools. Many go on to complete high school and attend college. Extra activities are not geared towards one gender. There is a two period time slot on Friday afternoons where students choose an activity that is creatively crafted by teachers who want to provide opportunities to delve into other topics to produce a well rounded student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2007

M.y.a has change a great deal since the late eighties when I attended.My son started in 2005.Since then most of his friends and some good teachers has left or been laid off.Mya seems to just teach children to pass test such as the terra nova,pssa and any other test that are required for schools to stay open.Most of the after school activities are geared to the girls such as basket ball,track.Unless it,s relates to tutoring services or chess.Some of the monthly bake sale monies never go towards childrens trips just snacks for occasional parties.The parents pays full fees for all trips if any should occur that year.wednesday night was the first back to school night.mostly filled with new parents.I really felt like getting on the mike and telling parents to run for the border!The old mya is history!Some of the things you have just heard is a big front!peace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I am a graduate of MYA. I graduted in 2000. MYA is a great school the teachers there are really into what they do. There are after school activities, electives, one on one help if nessecary over all MYA is a great school that prepares you for the future. MYA offers alot of extra acctivites that most middle schools don't offer. When I attended MYA every Marking Period we would get to pick a new elective. Some of the electives they had to offer included, chour, cooking classes, pillow making, painting, dance,ect. At the end of each marking period we would share all of the work we did in electives by haveing a festival. Elective was the last two periods of every friday. So you see MYA goes above and beyond to provide the best education possiable for your child and at the same time they make learning fun.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 29, 2005

I'm not a parent either, but a former student who had the honor to attend such a fine school. In all of my four years of attending MYA, I learned so much and made so many friends. MYA is really one of the best middle schools out there and it does prepare you for the future unlike no other middle school. It has some of the best, most well educated and caring teachers there are. The former principal, Ms. Nye did an excellent job keeping this school smart and up-to-date. You would really be making the right choice to send your child to such an excellent school as MYA is. --Paul Yeskelawitch c/o 2005
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 17, 2004

I'm not a parent, but a former student. I've just graduated from here, the Class of 2004! I have had the privilage to attend MYA and I must say that I have enjoyed the quality of my former teachers' teaching and the way that the school upholds its' academics. MYA is the one of the best Philadelphia Public Schools that a student can attend, and parents would make a good choice of sending their kids to MYA. MYA has high academic standards here and that's one of the things that prepare us for high school. I'll miss this school so much. This shows how much a student enjoys a school such as one like this. Thank you to my teachers and principal, Ms. Nye for four wonderful years at MYA.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
21%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female54%
Male79%
Black66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female38%
Male58%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students33%
Female33%
Male33%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female89%
Male64%
Black77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male44%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female58%
Male73%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
Black74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male79%
Black75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female38%
Male50%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female76%
Male48%
Black66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
White 3% 71%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4725 Fairmont Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19139
Phone: (215) 471-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Locke Alain School
Philadelphia, PA


Rhoads James School
Philadelphia, PA


Washington Martha School
Philadelphia, PA


St Ignatius Of Loyola
Philadelphia, PA


Cockrell Christian School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT