Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Middle Years Alternative School 3

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
I am one of the students who will graduate MYA this year. Now, MYA is pretty much a small school; everybody knows everybody once you get to know them. You'll make friends easily. The downfall to MYA is that there are A LOT of students who don't want to learn and keeps making noise everytime a teacher wants to teach. Most of the teachers are very good at teaching while some are pretty much unorganized and are not as strict as the principal. If the teachers are not that strict, the students won't care about the lesson that the teacher is trying to teach them. Though, half of students make a lot of noise and distractions(even during on tests!), there are the other half who are devoted to school and work very hard. I won't say I'll be glad to get out of MYA because there are so many good memories in here. I know a lot of my friends are happy to get out of this school though, and hopefully want to enjoy a better experience in high school.

Middle Years Alternative School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
My friend goes to this school and she said she loves it! I'm thinking about going to this school next year! She said the students are nice & everybody get along! This school is amazing! The food is great everybody thinks this is a great school actually a couple of my friends go here! I might end up coming so I'll be lucky if I do!


Middle Years Alternative School 4

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
My mixed children were previously going to our neighborhood public schools before going to MYA. The difference between public school and MYA drastic. In the public schools my children were constantly harrassed due to their skin color and were in several fights per year! The schools really do nothing about it other than suspension and the parents of the perpertrating students couldnt care less! MYA on the other hand does NOT tolerate that behavior. There was one incident in the beginning of the school year and Mrs. Fitzpatrick handled it immediately! No problems since! MYA IS AWESOME! DESCENT EDUCATION(NOT THE BEST BUT DEFINITELY BETTER THAN PUBLIC), gOOD SCHOOL LUNCH, AND SAFETY, WHICHIS NUMBER ONE ON MY LIST! THANK YOU MYA!

Middle Years Alternative School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Middle Years Alternative School 5

Posted January 28, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Middle Years Alternative School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
I am a current 8th grader at MYA, the school is ridicously bad this year. Yes, it is true MYA is academicly strong but the current principle, Mrs. Fitzpatrick makes it feel awful. It seems as if she is just in it for the money, not the students. The teachers are great. They try to remember everyones name. But, Fitzpatrick only really remember the names of the kids who regurly get sent to her office. I feel sorry for the current 7th, 6th, and 5th graders who have to spend a year or more with her. I also feel sorry for the future students.

Middle Years Alternative School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Middle Years Alternative School 4

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Middle Years Alternative School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a teacher
I would like to counter some of the comments made by a teacher dated January 7, 2009. In terms of preparing students for testing, this is a district wide policy which MYA teachers follow and are successful in implementing. MYA has made Annual Yearly Progress for 7 years in a row. As for certification, teachers must have certification in order to provide adequate and effective teaching. The fact that a teacher is rushed in obtaining it is of no consequence of the school, again this is a district and state mandate. The mixing of the 'Sels' is inclusion. All schools in the city and beyond are doing this. Lastly, students receive strong instruction and consistent attention to subject matter in which they are struggling. Comments left on this page by students is a testament of MYA's program.

Middle Years Alternative School 5

Posted April 22, 2009
- a student
I am a student who just recently moved back into the area. I left the school in 2002, some of the best memories of my life are of MYA it was a great enviroment to learn in even though the building we had when i was there was not the best. My classmates were like family and the teachers connected with us as students and helped us better ourselves. I cant speak to the current state of the school but if any of my old teachers are still there i would definnately recomend this school as one of the pest public schools in philadelphia.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middle Years Alternative School
4725 Fairmont Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19139
(215) 471-6400
Last modified Middle Years Alternative School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Middle Years Alternative School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top