Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Theodore Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2014

This is such a horrible school my past experience before the change with a new principal was great. I loved the idea of it being for 7th & 8th graders only separating female students from male students and they had an honors program for students that excelled so they could be challenged more. Since last year the change enabled the school to start from Kindergarten through 8th grade, they changed principals and staff. Since the change I've had nothing but horrible experiences with the teacher putting his hands on my son, them targeting him to get him out of the school putting false claims on his records. The principal is non active and doesn't care, the teachers are understaffed and most are incompetent. I was called for every minor thing my son did but not the major things like when the teacher put his hand on my child which caused him to be so angry he punched the wall and broke his hand. It's a shame because this use to be a great school where the teachers as well as the principal cared. Now they have people that don't care and the children are running the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Roosevelt was the worse school for my son, not only they didnt teach him anything but they suspended him every other day for not staying in class, he got suspended for everything not pertaining to education. the kids ran over the teachers and they had no displinary action for the kids but to suspend them. i think if they improve the teacher displinary actions instead of suspending them for dumb reason then maybe the school would improve. i will not be sending my son back to this school ever again he didnt learn anything when he was there. only how to come to school so they can suspend him again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

The school has great potential. However, if the Teachers and Parents aren't willing to get together and help these kids....... they might as well send the kids home and stop wasting tax payers money on lazy, shameful, teachers and administrators and hopeless children.


Posted August 9, 2010

I'am a former student and this school was truly an "insane asylum". Most of the students were labeled academically challanged, and unwilling to learn when in fact it was actually the teachers that were unwilling to teach. Roosevelt's teachers and principal have traumatized me for the rest of my life. If you love your children don't send them to this god forsaken school. PLEASE!!!!


Posted June 22, 2010

WARNING:My daughter can't even get into a decent high school thanks to Roosevelt's low level of education! I might have to cyber homeschool her.Please use that as another altenative before sending your children to this school. You and your child will really reget it. I know I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

Teachers are always helpful, courteous and attentive to my child's need. I know the history of the school having sent many children there over the years. But, it is being transformed since 2006 into a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

The social setting is chaotic and volitile. Upon observation it seems as though the students run the building. It got so bad that the principal left without notice to staff or parents. My child is in the Special Ed. Prgm. which is poorly managed. There seems to be no emphasis on teaching students in special ed. I would not recommend be it neighborhood or special ed to this zoo-like School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

I am not a parent but a former student from 1998. I want to rate this teacher who I thought was a wonderful teacher, and who was like a friend to me. She believed in all of her students and she was always the boss! her name was Jill Cooper. Thanks Mrs. Cooper, Love ya! Sincerly, Jenny Jones (Maiden name)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Rossvelt middle school is a great place to learn the teachers at the school try their best to teach the childen what they need to know to be success in life. Teachers at this school don't just teach what you need to but what you need to know for life. This is a great school to learn in.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
4%

2009

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female33%
Male21%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students28%
Female30%
Male27%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female35%
Male20%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students19%
Female23%
Male16%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students7%
Female4%
Male9%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students9%
Female15%
Male4%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 15%
Hispanic 3% 9%
White 1% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

430 East Washington Ln
Philadelphia, PA 19144
Phone: (215) 951-4170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Emlen Eleanor C School
Philadelphia, PA



Lotus Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Project Learn School
Philadelphia, PA


Germantown High School
Philadelphia, PA


Fulton Robert School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT