Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2013

As a product of St Christopher School, I credit the dedicated faculty and challenging curriculum for my academic success. In my final semester of college and excited to graduate summa cum laude. Thank you St Christopher School for teaching me the importance of education early on.


Posted March 12, 2013

I have sent multiple children to St. Christopher School and firmly believe in the education that they provide. St. Christopher School offers a safe environment with plenty of extracurricular activities. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

This school is pitiful! They had a monopoly going for years before the charter schools really starting making an impact on the community. The academics are below what the public school children are doing. Take a look at the summer reading lists! A 3rd grade book for a child entering 4th grade?? It's a disgrace. They bullying is rampant, from the students right on up to the teachers and administration. This school is a joke for all the money you pay. Look elsewhere, join another parish, send your child to public school if you live in the 'burbs. St. Chris is a terrible place for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I graduated Saint Chrisopher's a few years ago. In my own opinion, I feel that this school is wonderful. It has a loving environment and the knowledge I gained there will enforce good morals and brilliance throught the rest of my life!


Posted September 25, 2007

St. Christopher School provided my child with an excellent education. A little hard work by the student and the parents as well can go a long way. My child graduated in 2003 and went on to attend an Ivy League school. I think the record speaks for itself. Cudos, St. Chris!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I am a student at St. Christopher School. I believe that the school is good over all. I think the most of the teachers are very intelligent, but some aren't. I believe that some teachers don't give students the attention that is needed. I think the academics of St. Chris are very good however. I have kept an A+ average through my years in St. Chris. I think the music program is very good. Art is ok but could be better. There should be an art teacher instead of the homeroom teacher teaching art. I would say that the sports are amazing! I think the Gym teacher is very good and involved, but I think the gymnasium itself is dirty and needs to be fixed up. Parents are very involved in their child's school. Many parents donate things, and take part on the boards too. I hope like my review!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2007

I'm a student here and the quality of St. Christopher's academic standards is good for me. I have received Straight A's all through my academic career. I believe that the music is good. The sports program is good, but the gym program isn't good . It has a horrible gymnasium in which we play hardly any actual sports. The CYO dances and other things the CYO hosts are great though. I believe the parents our involved with this school enough. We have many volunteers who are parents of the students attending St. Christopher School. In conclusion, i think that St. Christopher's is only a mediocre school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2007

The teachers and adminstration are truly dedicated,committed,and hard working. The Phys-Ed for students lacks funding and proper facilities. Solid education but with reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

I believe that this school has its priorities incorrect. The children are not engaged and challenged as they should be. I am looking for more focused activity and support. They are failing.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 1, 2005

This school is possibly the worst I could have ever sent my children to. 8 years of 'work' and nothing to show for it. Never send your kids here! The principal is, no exaggeration, the most out of touch person in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

In the guidelines of extracurricular activities it says that this school provides the arts, sports, an other activites. It doesn't say how bad the poor gym program is or the for art you write your name an color it which I a student had done the year before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2004

This is a good school. The teachers work hard and are very interested in the children. Not many after school activities for the younger grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13305 Proctor Rd
Philadelphia, PA 19116
Phone: (215) 673-5787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Comly Watson School
Philadelphia, PA



Calvary Christian Academy
Philadelphia, PA



Loesche William H School
Philadelphia, PA


Pine Road Elementary School
Huntingdon Valley, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT