Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Martin De Porres School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $41,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

I love this school. I have two children graduate from St. Martin DePorres. One is a college graduate and the other is a A student in Catholic High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

I loved this school at one point till my daughter had a racist teacher and the school stuck by the teacher and asked that my daughter not return in June knowing that all schools have closed registration. My children have no school to attend in September at this point. At this point I believe they are worried about money instead of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

I LOVE SMdP ! BEST SCHOOL EVER ! I attended this school from K - 8 & I loved it ! I'm going to miss all the teachers and staff . Especially Sr. Nancy, Ms. White and Ms. Bauer. Ms. Susan too! Love you guys :)! ..Class of' 11 <3 -Jaide Jimperson


Posted May 4, 2010

This is my son's first year at St. Martin De Poress and he is doing very well in the first grade. He previously attended Ivy Leaf for Pre-K which they have since closed and then went on to a Christian School before moving on to St. Martin. He is picking up where the other two schools have left off and I am impressed. My four year old will be attending St. Martin's during the 2011 school year for Kindergarten. The teachers and Sis. Nancy are doing such a wonderful job. Keep up the good work and continue to be a blessing to our youth, they are the future. A satisfied parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

This was my daughter's first year attending this school and quite frankly I was a little disappointed. The school has an outstanding Principle and if you can get some of the teachers to be on the same page, I think that this could be an awsome place to send your child from K-8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My daughter has attended since 2nd grade in is currently in the 5th. I absolutely love everything about the school, the academics, the teachers, the principal. This is a place where I feel safe leaving my child. They offer free after care through the Beacon program, Praise Dance and other fun activities. Not to mention the spiritual guidance. I really love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

My daughter has attended St. Martin de Porres for all of her school life. She is now fully prepared for high school. The academic standards are quite high,great parent participation,teachers really get to know the students, and the principal really gets involved to ensure the safety of all students, makes sure that students are meeting all the requirements, and will schedule a meeting with the parents if they are not.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 74%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 W Lehigh Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19132
Phone: (215) 223-6872

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Peirce Thomas M School
Philadelphia, PA



Whittier John G School
Philadelphia, PA


Pratt Anna B School
Philadelphia, PA


Wright Richard R School
Philadelphia, PA


Stanton M Hall School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT