Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis Xavier

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $284,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

My daugther has attended SFX since she was in K, she is now in 5th grade. The school came highly recommended from a friend who took her child out of Bladwin and put her in SFX. We love the school, the fact there is only 1 class pre grade adds to the friendly and homely environment . the kids all get along for the most part as much as you can when you put 210 kids in one building. The teachers are all very helpful and i love the fact that each teacher has a very different teaching style which challenges the kids in different way each year. All of the parents and very friendly and SFX is like a big family. They also have some great programs with the school and associated with like, Advance Math, First in Math, Reading Olympics, Girls Scouts, Softball & baseball, basket ball, choir, french class lego club, dance, magicians club, computer & art.They also have a partnership with the Art museum and many more. Because SFX is small and is a side street it really is a hidden jewel. I am excited to see what they do in the coming years to help keep them rated within the 10% of Philadelphia school. L love the fact that Ms Butler the principal runs the school with a strong arm and huge heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

We have child at sfx and has been there for prek and now k. Her experience has been very positive and the teachers are involed and concerned! She has developed relationships with kids in all grades and it seems to be a very caring environment. Academically, she has been progressing very good and there is always some activity taking place to keep a community feel for the school. We think its a great fine in Philadelphia and even better value cost wise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

I have three children at St. Francis Xavier, and am very happy with the school. My oldest is in Grade 5. It has a great environment with small classes and a staff that really cares. They have a variety of programs like rowing, a partnership with the Art Museum and work with the Horticultural Society.The children are challenged educationally. There are advanced Math and Reading classes, after school sports for students in Grades 5 and up, Choir, a variety of after school clubs. They participate in the Reading Olympics and Junior Flower Show. When you go into the school, you can see that the children are very happy, they are respectful. I can't say enough about how pleased I am with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Overall, this school does have a good education, fun garden, most teachers only teach they don't care about you. The problems are it's dull and very unhappy. Second problem is that kids pick on you and start fights with you. The only thing they do for fighting is siting in a chair for 15 minutes during school. The third is that it's a rip off. I was a student their and i hated it.


Posted August 15, 2010

I love St. Francis school. I am very happy to have my son attend this school. The environment at St. Francis is very loving and caring. Ms Butler, the principle, is very attentive to the children's needs as are the teachers. The children at the school are very well behaved and well adjusted, it's obvious that the nurturing environment is a key component to the children happiness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

We have been very happy with St Francis Xavier for our daughter who has been there for K and 1st. The teachers and teaching assistants have been excellent. The school has a lovely sense of community and the children are expected to be well behaved and respectful at all times and they are. Our only disappointment has been that there is no emphasis in the teachers making use of the outside or gymnasium space during recess. Admittedly there isn't much of it but there is a beautiful school garden at the end of the block which is only used by the Pre-K and K students. The kids need time to run around every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Having just moved here from out of state last minute, and my kids having gone to Montessori schools, I was very challenged in finding a new school, as most schools had extensive waiting lists. 2 kids just happened to have moved in december, creating 2 openings in pre-k. I went in and met the principal and her assistant, and immediately felt like this was the place for us. I was then given a tour of the school and the classroom where the kids were chanting outloud their numbers divisible by 10s. They all were happy and the classroom was very cute, well organized and it seemed perfect. The tuition is very affordable. We are very happy and so are our kids! They just love Ms. Cathy. :) She seems a little frazzled at times, but she will tell you she is a worrier, but doesnt display it with kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

My son attended the pre-k classes and was definitely engagaed for the full day. He learned not only how to behave in a school setting with instructors that took the time to help but also how to interact with childeren of varing backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24th & Wallace
Philadelphia, PA 19130
Phone: (215) 763-6564

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Francis Xavier School
Philadelphia, PA


Bache-Martin School
Philadelphia, PA


Waring Laura W School
Philadelphia, PA


Spring Garden Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Girard College
Philadelphia, PA


Caring Center
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT