Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls

Private | 9-12 | 700 students

Rigorous academics, 4year Art & Music, Largest Women Athletic program.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

I recently graduated from shhs and that school prepared me for more than it planned to. The education its just for college its for life too. More schools should be like shhs. I miss the hallowed halls of that school and wish everyday i could be back with the best teachers, students, and basically just the greatest people in the world. Class of 2009 rules all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

All three of my daughters went to St Hubert and loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

What can I say about St. Hubert!? It is the best! I love every minute of school. When I get up every morning I look forward to going to SH and don't want to leave at the end of the day! That's why I am involved in so many activities and sports! And the teachers, they are there for you Day or Night (well maybe not night, they need sometime away from us but you get what I mean) I can't wait for the summer to be over so I can see everyone again! Once a Bambie always a Bambie! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2009

My Daughter is Graduating this year and I have another coming in as a freshman in the fall. What is it I like about St. Hubert, Well It is in a safe neighborhood. Why anyone would want to send their child to North Philadelphia is beyond me. St. Hubert has teachers that work hard to make sure your daughter knows what she is doing and they are available if the students need extra help. My daughter is the middle of the road student but scored well on her SATS and got a scholarship to private colleges in the area. I believe without her St. Hubert education, my daughter would be prepared for college and not be the wonderful young woman she is today. I am proud to say I am a Bambi Mom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Best school I ever attended. If I could go back I would. The teachers are amazing and there's a lot of activities to get involved in.


Posted December 12, 2008

St. Hubert is a college prep school for young women. With cutting edge technology, unique course offerings, there is no doubt that St. Hubert is THE top all girls high schools in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

It simply isn't diverse enough. I often find myself feelin extremely uncomfortable and ofter unhappy.You really can't express yourself at this school and it's way too expensive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2004

My grandaughter graduated from St. Hubert High School last year she was an honor student and is now attending college. It is a great school and the administration is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I am actually still a student @ Hubert's! The school is great, the teachers are nice, and it is a wonderful school to attend. If u have a daughter interested in music this is the place to send her, the music program is wonderful. There are also plenty of extracurricular activities to pick from! In the end you will be happy you chose Hubert's.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

I was actually a graduate of St. Huberts C/O 2002. The staff there is absoltly amazing. I honestly think that if i would have ever went to another high school i would hae never recieved my diploma. St. Huber is an amazing school and iwould strongly recomend letting your child attened this school. thanks, Crystal A. Gablw
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 71%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Black 4% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Pennsylvania
Holy Family University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • University Pennsylvania Distributed Leadership School
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jefferson Awards (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Forensics club
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Francis Farrell/Dr. Joanne Walls
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Septa
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Ambassadors
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Button Making Club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • It's Academic
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
PSAS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Pennsylvania
Holy Family University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 95%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7320 Torresdale Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19136
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 624-6840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln High School
Philadelphia, PA


Father Judge High School
Philadelphia, PA



Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA



Northeast High School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT