Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls

Private | 9-12 | 700 students

Rigorous academics, 4year Art & Music, Largest Women Athletic program.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

St. Hubert High School speaks much of its recent past of nearly closing, and runs numerous fund raisers. The computers are outdated, the fees for every activity are high, and there are not many auxiliary advanced academic services or tutoring services available for students. So I ask you, where has all the fundraising the money gone? Why have a male school president in an all girls' school? What academic qualifications does he have? What is his function--is it purely fundraising? Dr. Walls has a history with St. Hubert, but is there not new blood that can bring new ideas? T Distributing iPads and using smart boards is not cutting edge. There are new learning philosophies--let the young and upcoming teachers bring their ideas instead of teachers who, although once great, are past their prime and very old. Where are the science clubs? Why not strive to earn STEM grants? For instance, instead of a scrapbook project on the Romonov Dynasty, force the girls to summarize current events in modern Russia. Think what the girls really need to know to survive in this New Normal. Your daughter will be safe and learn values at the school. The school needs to make adjustments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My daughter just began her 4 year journey at St Hubert's this September (13). During her 7th grade year, we looked at every high school possibility. NO school stood out like St Hubert's did! The new principal, Dr. Walls, was not even hired while we were on the high school search, & with her being added to the already phenomenal staff, the school is even better than I imagined it would be. The girls in my neighborhood have 3 choices for an All Girls school that are relatively convenient, St Basil's Nazareth & St Hubert's. The 2 academies are much more expensive & don't offer anything additional for the extra expens. We are so comfortable and settled with this decision. The school is beautifully maintained, & landscaped. The staff is caring & friendly and they even have a wonderful parent's association. Me & my husband have made as many new friends in the last two months as our daughter has! Plan attend open house this fall, St Hubert's does a wonderful job showcasing their school and providing needed information. I guarantee you will be impressed. We are proud to be a part of the St Hubert family. I encourage anyone with a daughter to consider this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

My Daughter is a transfer student from Little Flower this year as a junior.. The transfer process was a seamless one .. When I see the smile on her face every day I know I made the right decision allowing her to transfer. St. Hubert offered her several opportunities for her to get involved right away and offered her several electives and college courses that fit her interests. We couldn't be happier with our decision! As for the persons remarks below, I don't believe they went to the same school. St. Hubert's building is immaculate inside and out. The building does not have barbed wire around it like little flower does and St. Hubert building is open late at night for after school activities and events. St. Hubert provides a safe nurturing environment. They welcomed my daughter with open arms. My daughter never felt like the "new girl" because she took advantage of what St. Hubert offered her. I believe the validity of St. Hubert is in it's other reviews. St. Hubert is a school like any other! You can feel the school spirit when you walk right in the door. They live their school and it shows. It is truly the best all girls school in Philadelphia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

my daughter transferred to st hubert as a junior, coming from schooling in another city, the school was very cold and not very welcoming to my daughter. there seemed to be clicks and there was no room for a new girl, just cold. my daughter is very bright and hated to be in this school everyday, I had her transferred to Little flower where they welcomed her with open arms, the school is more like a school than a prison like st hubert. Fresh flowers, not like the dead ones outside the school of st huberts and the trash in the back of st huberts is a disgrace, they should really have a clean up day.that alone shows there is not much pride in the school. little flower is in a more deprived area but you would never know that by looking at the school, extremely clean, and pleasant you can see the pride that the faculty and the students have in their school...even at the transfer process at st huberts, not even a good luck to her well, she loves Little flower and the spirt and pride they have in their school. and because of this she will not only succeed in her dreams but become a person that is accepting, mature, and pride in herself....Thank you Little Flower, Good bye St Huberts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I am a faculty member and I consider myself privileged to be granted the opportunity to teach at St Hubert's. I am an experienced faculty member, and have held several teaching jobs throughout the Phila. Archdiocesan High School system. I don't ever see myself wanting to leave St Hubert's, this is where I will retire from my teaching career. This school is constantly exploring new ideas, & has the entire staff engaged in decision making, so we are able to provide the best education possible no matter what track your daughter is in. The college course selection and AP curriculum offered at St Hubert's is way beyond what is offered elsewhere. They are a leading school in this area. Meanwhile, students in need of extra support have many options available that will prepare them for further education or a career after high school, . Any type of learner will fit in at St Hubert's & it is fascinating to see how well they all do! The goal is for every student to leave SH having done the best they can! I am honored to be a part of this team & I look forward to what is yet to come. Take it from someone who has taught at many All Girls High Schools in Philly, St Hubert;s is THE BEST!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2010

St.Hubert's is a great school! My daughter loves it there. The faculty is wonderful and the education she has received has been superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

St. Hubert's is amazing. I just graduated in 2010 and I already miss it. I still wear my Bambie bracelet, and I'm glad I went there. Besides a really good education, you meet people there you can talk to at two in the morning for the rest of your life.


Posted October 20, 2010

Sr. Hubert's Catholic High Scool for Girls is a great school. The teachers help students build a great education. The students are very friendly and always respectful of their fellow classmates and their teachers. There is also many after school activities for the girls to get involved in which include sports, academic clubs and many other clubs. I am very proud to be a Bambie.


Posted October 20, 2010

I had such a great time at Huberts, mainly because of the teachers. They all got very involved in their students and school and therefore made me want to get really involved!


Posted October 12, 2009

St. Huberts has dedicated faculty and staff members that believe in the school's mission of an all-girls catholic education centered around faith and integrity. The experience at this school is priceless.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

My oldest daughter attends St Huberts and loves it, I also have a daughter in 8th grade this year who will be attending St Huberts. I love the fact that it is an all girls school and the teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I had the time of my life at St. Hubert and it was four incredible years I will never forget. I find it sad for my friends in college who say how much they disliked high school and I loved it! They obviously did not go to a high school as great as mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

each and every girl at saint huberts has so much pride in their alma mater. I will never regret going to Saint Hubert's because it is the best all girls high school in the world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

the atmossphere is great. the girls are always so nice and everyone is practically sweating school spirit. bleed brown and gold :]
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My school is great! i learn alot and i have a great time! The teachers and staff are also extremely nice and help us students alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

If i had to do it all again I'd only change 1 thing my hair style! SH gave me confidence, skill and the ability to make a difference in this world!


Posted September 23, 2009

I spent the best four years at saint huberts and wouldn't trade my time there for the world! once a bambie always a bambie! CLASS OF 2008
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

St.Hubert is the best all girls high school in philly! Everyone is welcome and belonged, we have the biggest school spirit and you will make theee best of friends and memoires you will cherish forever.class of 08 =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

St. Hubert is home. It is where I made the best friends I could ever ask for. It is an amazing place with teachers that really care and become your friends. It is a place I dearly miss and I wish I could go back. The St. Hubert community made me who I am today, It helped me to grow and truly become a woman of faith and integrity. Peace Love Bambies!


Posted September 23, 2009

It has many clubs to join and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 71%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Black 4% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Pennsylvania
Holy Family University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • University Pennsylvania Distributed Leadership School
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jefferson Awards (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Forensics club
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Francis Farrell/Dr. Joanne Walls
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Septa
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Ambassadors
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Button Making Club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • It's Academic
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
PSAS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Pennsylvania
Holy Family University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 95%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7320 Torresdale Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19136
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 624-6840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln High School
Philadelphia, PA


Father Judge High School
Philadelphia, PA



Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA



Northeast High School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT