Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Josaphat Ukrainian Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 230 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $94,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2007

My daughters loved St Josaphats both did well in school and they were safe and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

This is the best choice for school in the area that it is located. It has lots of parent/teacher involvement. It is very focused on academics. They offer another language and encourage parent participation to help with the full learning of the child. It is high on my list of great schools in Phila. Michelle Matt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

Gym class existed, but only involved people who played sports. Those who did not, sat on the side. There was no time for socialization and no time for any development other than the mediocre education that you get. If I had a kid, i would not send them there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2006

The language, culture and religious curriculum was excellent. There was very little offered in the way of math and science, however. There was absolutely no music or art programs. Athletics consisted of 7th and 8th grade basketball and running around in the schoolyard for 30 minutes every day. Classroom sizes were small (~ 20 students per grade).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2005

I am a graudate of Saint Josaphat's Ukrainian Catholic School. I believe that, while a solid foundation has been laid out, there is much room for improvement. There is virtually zero parent involvement in academics, and there is only one sport for the students- basketball, usually coached by a parent, and this was only after none of the teachers were willing to donate the time! Extracurricular activities are limited to basketball only- not much of a program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 27, 2004

I am so pleased I chose St. Josaphat's for my children. Both my daughter and my son have excelled here. The classes are small and allow for all the students to know each other. All of the teachers know all of the students! I, also love the fact that they are learning another language. If you are in doubt of where to send your children and you live in NE Philadelphia, seriously consider St. Josaphat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

I am so glad I chose this school. My son has learned so much and he will keep learning. Not just about reading, writing and math but how to be closer to god and how to be a better person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

I couldn't be happier or more satisfied with St. Josaphat's. My children love this school. There are many schools in our area we could have chosen and I am so happy we made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Black 7% 16%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Ukrainian
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10
School end time
  • 2:35
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Christina McIntyre
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (215) 332-1876

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Ukrainian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4521 Longshore Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19135
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 332-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Disston Hamilton School
Philadelphia, PA



St. Leo Elementary School
Philadelphia, PA


Planet Abacus Cs
Philadelphia, PA


Forrest Edwin School
Philadelphia, PA


St. Bernard School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT