Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
994 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a community member
Every day, I become a little more grateful that I attended Saint Joseph's Prep. This is a school that took me in and instilled in me a voice and a confidence I thought I'd never have. When I arrived at college, at one of the most prestigious and oldest of all schools in the US, I started to really realize the power of the Prep. My college classmates initially bragged about how easy high school was for them, and how they "didn't need to open a book". The transition for most of them was incredibly rough. On the other hand, I could not have been better prepared. It stunned me how even some of the prep's introductory classes were on par with the AP level classes at some other schools. You may doubt your place at this all-boys school initially, but I promise you, if you graduate from this school, you will be better off. The tuition is currently $21,550. This is a tremendous sacrifice for any parent; it certainly was for mine. However, it is called a sacrifice for a reason: you give up something in exchange for something even greater. I don't think I will ever be able to repay my parents for the sacrifices they went through in order to send me to this school. I cannot thank the amazing faculty at the prep enough.

St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a student
The Prep is truly a place where you can find yourself. If your son is looking to grow academically, socially, and morally, this is the place to be. While the Prep may not be for everyone, there is something for everyone at the Prep. If your son is an athletic type, this school offers top-tier sports teams with top-tier coaches. Even if your son doesn't make the team, there are tons of different sports and activities to try. If your son is intelligent and is looking to be further challenged, The Prep offers many honors course options and a variety of AP classes. The teachers are terrific and are always available for extra help and tutoring if your son needs/wants it. If your son is the adventurous type, he will find the many service opportunities and school trips that the Prep offers in addition to the added independence and freedom of being located in the city. All in all, the Prep stresses the goal of making their students "Men for Others". Your son will undoubtedly, finish his high school experience with a sense of responsibility to care and conquer the world before him. Go Prep! 5 Stars


St Joseph's Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 19, 2015
- a student
The three-plus hours of homework is definitely a challenge, but a necessary one. College is significantly easier after be prepared by SJP.

St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
I had two sons and 2 nephews who graduated from the Prep. I have another son going there this year. Both of my sons and nephews who graduated got into top tier colleges and are on track to get top tier jobs. The son who I have at the Prep right now is very shy, and did not want to go to the prep and have to leave his old friends. After a day of being there he immediately fell in love with everything from teachers to to food. The atmosphere is great and the motto of "man for others" could not be anything more than what I ask for. The academics while demanding and challenging, are a nice way to challenge my son into becoming the best student possible. The teachers are also engaging, and willing to help at all times, while the religious aspect is also perfect. I could not be more impressed with Saint Joe's prep and feel that it is the best high school in the country.

St Joseph's Preparatory School 1

Posted September 27, 2013
- a community member
As an alumnus of St. Joe's Prep, I cannot recommend it. The school strictly enforces minor dress code issues, while tolerating bullying by athletes. Many teachers are fundamentally dishonest, or make false claims against students to assist with fundraising. Although there are many good teachers, it is a case of a few really rotten apples spoiling the bunch.


St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school, very demanding academically. Our son in addition to being accepted to Saint Joseph's Prep was accepted to Lasalle College High School,Central High School and got a scholarship to Roman Catholic High school, however he decided he wanted to go to the prep and it was the best choice we made. Every night he spends three to four hours studying but he doesn't mind it because he loves going to the prep.

St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted August 23, 2010
- a community member
I am a graduate of St Joe's from the 70s. The school transformed my life. St Joe's demanding academics, its encouragement of good study habits, its focus on the whole man, and the inspiration of the Prep teachers, combined to propel me into a first tier college (MIT) and prepared me to succeed there. I am so grateful to all of those teachers who invested in me. I cannot confirm today's school is the same (living in Silicon Valley, California now), but if St Joe's Prep is even a shadow of that same school I attended, 5 stars is not enough.

St Joseph's Preparatory School
no rating

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
My Son will be going to this school next year. Fortunately in this geographic area, we have excellent Catholic and Private schools to chose from. We choose 'the Prep' as it is proudly referred for several reasons. 1) literally unanimous great feedback from students, alumni and parents 2) interaction with present students. They seem to have a positive edge in areas such as manors, ability to present them self 3) examining list of colleges that recent grads attend, exceptional. 4) most importantly since again there are many very good; where my son wanted to attend after summer program (highly recommended), day visit etc.


St Joseph's Preparatory School 5

Posted June 28, 2008
- a parent
Perfet... can't ask for anymore in a school, it is very competive. The greatest choice that I gave my son was sending him to the Prep.

St Joseph's Preparatory School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
We can't say enough good things about this school. It is very tough academically and has top-notch athletics. There are no phys ed or health classes here - - but rather Latin is mandatory. Take a look at where The Prep's grads are going to college and then compare to other schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph's Preparatory School
1733 West Girard Avenue, Philadelphia, PA  19130
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (215) 978-1959
Last modified St Joseph's Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top