Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
547 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Katherine Of Siena School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
After reading some reviews, they have gotten better with bullying education, but it's NOT good enough. I know even today in 2nd grade WAY too many things are tolerated that should not be.

St Katherine Of Siena School 2

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I cannot wait to remove her from this school. The ONLY reason they succeed in maintain their numbers is that it is the best of the worst in our area. That is a very poor standard. I know MANY parents there feel the same way and refuse to stand up about it. Right now the principal is absolutely the worst. Nice person, but a terrible leader, and cannot delegate effectively leaving their day to day administrative duties sorely lacking. They show no 'gumption' no will, no fight, no strength in protecting the needs of their students and the quality of their education. Extremely Disappointed.


St Katherine Of Siena School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Somewhat Effective is only given due to the her 3rd grade teacher who is MUCH more skilled then the 2nd grade teacher she has. I've NEVER come across a more ignorant (in the sense of intelligence), absent, rude, unaffected teacher in my entire life.

St Katherine Of Siena School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I can only say 'just right' because my daughter excels at many things and struggles with very little, but I know many others feel it's too much, especially in the K-3.

St Katherine Of Siena School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
In this school, it's sink or swim. They do not have the capability (in terms of quality of providers, materials, or administration) to handle any child outside of the 'norm'. If you excel, or struggle, you will be left on your own to skate through unprepared for challenges that lay ahead.


St Katherine Of Siena School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I've seen a dramatic increase in my daughters 'attitude' and the tone of her voice, since she started at that school. She has been greatly, and negatively, impacted by those around her in the city and particularly in that school. We spend a great deal of time 'fixing' this at home.

St Katherine Of Siena School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
They do in ways that will garnish attention, big moments, big visits, normal special hallmark days but not where and when it counts.

St Katherine Of Siena School 2

Posted June 09, 2015
- a student
I am a former student at sks. THIS SCHOOL DOES NOT PREPARE YOU FOR HIGH SCHOOL AT ALL!! They say that they do but no they just simply dont. While i personally was not bullied i know many who were. When the kids told the teacher nothing would happen. Then, when they went to the principal nothing would happen. They had to deal with the bullies for the rest of their time there. Dont get me wrong there were some really good teachers that i loved. The curiculm (sorry if i marracred the word) is based upon the lowest learning person. So if somebody in your class just doesnt want to learn (and there were alot), then you are held back by that person. Most kids go to Ryan, Judge, or Huberts. Then many others go to charter schools. There might be that one kid in a class who goes to the prep school. In conclusion, i disliked my time at sks and now looking back it was pretty bad overall. I hope this review helps you.


St Katherine Of Siena School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a community member
My rating speaks for itself. Be mindful of where you send your children. Research. This school is NOT for every child.

St Katherine Of Siena School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a community member
Okay first of all I absolutely love my school! I'm in 7th grade and I am very sad that next year will ba my last year here at Sks! The teachers here are very kind and teach well. If you don't understand something just ask a teacher and they will try o explain it to you so that you do understand! I love my school and reccomend it to you for your child we recently opened a pre k program and next year we will add a pre k 3 year old program! So the grades will range from pre-k 3-8th grade! I hope you found this helpfull!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Katherine Of Siena School
9738 Frankford Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19114
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (215) 637-2181
Last modified St Katherine Of Siena School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top