Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
213 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Malachy School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Thry dont care about the kids allow bullying to go on there and nothing is done about it

St Malachy School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
The student population as a whole is very polite and well trained. All children held the door open for others and assisted younger kids at meal time.


St Malachy School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
For my granddaughter as an African American female, I felt her education recieved at this school was phenominal, I wasn't too impressed with how they treated black boys, parents of black boys be vigalent that the school is supporting what you expect your black young man to grow into. The white female teachers seemed to have an incredibly low expectation for the black boys in the school. I did address the new principal and he seemed receptive to my observations.

St Malachy School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
My granddaughter was enrolled for kindergarden last year. She is reading, does two digit math. I was impressed!

St Malachy School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
this school is horrible so many teachers left my son was these for kindergarten he had four different teachers in one year didn't learn nothing at all two different principles in one year they own secretary that works there talk so much about how bad The school is.. They don't really care about the kids or How they leaning because it n a black neighborhood they only care about the money that you're paying them no one from my son kindergarten class came back to that school so that show u how horrible the school is


St Malachy School 1

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
this school is horrible so many teachers left my son was these for kindergarten he had four different teachers in one year didn't learn nothing at all two different principles in one year so many teachers in 2015 they own secretary that works there talk so much about how bad The school is.. They don't really care about the kids or How they leaning because it n a black neighborhood they only care about the money that you're paying them no one from my son kindergarten class came back to that school so that show u how horrible the school is

St Malachy School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a community member
I am a graduate of Saint Malachy School and I received an excellent education. To date many people ask where my schooling took place as my core academics as well as my articulation is above par. I was accepted in a selective Private Catholic High School that required testing. My entire family attended St. Malachy including my son and [we] all have or had VERY successful careers! Relationships within a school should be close-nit. If the staff were bickering some would still have a gripe. People should attempt to become more involved in your investments (child's school) or you will never know when your financial adviser (child) is not providing the truth about the current market. Demeaning an educational institution online is ineffectual and it illustrates an ineptitude to resolve issues in an obeisant manner. I should hope your vocabulary is not parsimonious as mine is extensive thanks to St. Malachy. Respectfully, S. Russell

St Malachy School 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a teacher
St. Malachy's was recently acquired by the Independence Mission Schools as a privately held Catholic school. Teresa Richardson, the new principal, is a loving and caring leader. She has made some wonderful changes and will be welcoming some great new teachers for 2013-2014. There is before/after school cares, lunches, computer labs, a safe play yard and an excellent education where children are taught educationally and morally what is needed to succeed. Schedule a tour and decided for your self whether this is the best match for your child. Angry people tend to be the most vocal while the success stories go on living their life successfully!


St Malachy School 1

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
Don't send your child or children to this school! Trust me!! It's horrible. Everything from the education to the athletics is run terribly. The school is money hungry and is constantly trying to get money from you and force fundraising down your throat. It's ridiculous. The school is not based on the christian principles that a catholic school should be based on. The kids come very low on their list of priorities. There's a "clique" among the teachers, coaches, and parents and if you're not in that clique, you and your children will be treated horribly. There's a lot of favortism that goes on here. People told me this before I enrolled my kids, but I didn't listen. I wish I had!

St Malachy School 1

Posted May 05, 2011
- a community member
St. Malachy has undergone alot of changes throughout the years...not for the betterment! When choosing a school there are alot of important factors to consider. Please do your homework before choosing this school.

Nearby schools

St Malachy School
1419 North 11th Street, Philadelphia, PA  19122
(215) 232-0696
Last modified St Malachy School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top