Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Ryan High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

Honestly, the staff in this school are terrible ! The south side of the school ( where the tuition is paid) everyone is lovely. Any other office if full of miserable individuals. They give you problems for anything and I do agree that it's more of a prison. We have a tracking system and the slower kids in slower tracks get not respect, they are treated like less than the honors and higher track students. AR does not prepare you for college and I HIGHLY do not recommend attending this school. There is barley any diversity in this school and the racial comments I've heard about other in my four years are horrible. I must say I'm more than happy about graduation this year


Posted October 17, 2013

Although this school has a terrific curriculum with many AP offerings, I just couldn't get a grip on what their mission was. I felt like it was a chaotic place and my daughter would not excel here. Something needs to be done to make the school appear more structured and organized. When we toured Ryan in 2011, my daughter was in grade 7. She is now a Freshman at St Huberts. I have nothing against Ryan, but my daughter preferred an All girls environment. Ryan didn't leave the same impression on her or myself that the area All Girls schools like Nazareth & St Basil's Academy and St Hubert's did. I think you have a lot to offer, but you need to market it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

i always wanted to go to this school but i am not sure if i am my parents are looking to send me to Masterman but i think this school is a much better choice for me.


Posted October 13, 2010

ARHS is a wonderful high school that helps children grow and learn in an atmosphere that is safe and accepting of all ethnic backrounds. They receive a quality education by highly trained and motivated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

The first few days of school, when I sent my child to this school, he came back telling me that he was being bullied by many of the students that attend this school. At an instant, I transferred him to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

AR is a good school in all, but there are many things that need to be addressed. The rate of lockers being broken into is extremely high, and the faculty does nothing but blame the person who lost items saying 'they did not properly lock there lockers'


Posted January 14, 2009

Archbishop Ryan is a great school. Contrary to the other reviews, the school is not very diverse BUT it is improving. I am african american. My freshman year there were only about 15-20 of us out of about 2500 students Trust me; no exaggerating, we all knew each other. As long as you get involved and participate in any way that you can you will not feel lonely at this school. The teachers even invite you to join clubs if the see that you are lonely or even unenthusiastic. If you want your child to have a dose of the real world send them to Ryan. I guarantee they will become well rounded individuals. I never thought I would say this my freshman year but here I am!


Posted November 8, 2006

i gradutaed in 2003 and this school was the best years of my life. Because the school is big, there are a lot of different groups you can join with students and extra curricular activities. In my opinion the smaller the school is the more chance people will disclude a student. And the only people who hated this school were people who werent involved and just went to school and came home. Archbishop Ryan has so many different activities which is a great chance to meet people and find out the person within yourself!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

Tracking system helps students excel. Helpful staff and admin. Very family oriented.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2005

- good academic programs and tracking system helps alot. tutoring and good teachers. - more clubs and organizations than you can think of. - parent involvment could be improved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2005

Personally I think taking a parents opinion is great but I have the great experience of being a current student at Archbishop Ryan and can tell you that it is like a home to me. I am a sophomore and hated school up to my freshmen year at Ryan but now I take school as work yes, but it's fun work and I know that if you ask any of the other students if they like school at ARHS they will agree with me that we spend much of or free time there because we love school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2004

The school it self is alright, but the student body doesn't vary far from white... We need to see more African-Americans is this school. Just a warning to any students who are being forced to go to this school. Be parpared for a bunch of really annoying preps. As a student there know I think of it as my own personal hell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

As a graduate from this school myself, I have seen the many changes that have taken place over the years but one thing that has remaind a constant is that the teachers (well most) are genuinely concerned about the children and tey to see to it that all of them do well. Many of them go that extra mile and become more than just a speaker in the fromt of the room and actually are knowledgable of the lives and activities of the students. The school itself is quite diverse so it is a good way for students to experience all different lifestyles and culteres. The students are overall a good bunch of teens who know that while school may be something they have to do they are also making friends and contacts that they will have for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As a graduate, I am proud to send my son to the school. I had a wonderful time when I was a student, and my son has told me that he is enjoying his time very much. He says, 'Unlike grade school, they treat you like an adult here, not a child.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

Its a rather large school. The quality of the education is generally fair but more or less left entirely up to the child to choose how much effort they feel like putting in. A ton of extracurricular activities are available for the athletic and the non-athletic alike. Its a good experience if you put the work in. The student body is very diverse so almost anyone can fit in.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Hispanic 6% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael McArdle
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11201 Academy Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 637-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Delta School
Philadelphia, PA




Philadelphia Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA


Woodhaven School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT